Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2009, 06:01 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
wille's Avatar
 
2003 25' Classic
Sarasota , Florida
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to wille Send a message via Yahoo to wille
Unhappy Did I fry my microwave?

The electrician hooked up 220, instead of 110 to my outlet and it tripped the breakers. I had him re-do the box to 110 and everything seems okay, except the microwave doesn't seem to have any power. How can I tell if the unit is fried? and if it is, where do I get a new one?
__________________

__________________
wille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 06:18 PM   #2
Moderator
 
jcanavera's Avatar

 
2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9,002
Images: 143
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
You've most likely fried it. Give a call to your dealer. He can probably point you to a local outlet that can service your microwave. Once you remove the surround that frames out the microwave, you will probably find it's a very ordinary table top unit. I remember taking mine out in my '01 Safari for repair. I called my dealer and he directed me so a local site who services the one's he removes for warranty repairs.

Hopefully your electrician is taking responsibility for this and any other lunched appliance. You aren't the first person that I've read that has had an electrician make this mistake when adding a 30 amp outlet. Be sure to try out every appliance and light. Make sure your converter is still outputting voltage to the battery.

Jack

Jack
__________________

__________________
Jack Canavera
STL Mo.
AIR #56
'04 Classic 30' S.O.,'03 GMC Savana 2500,'14 Honda CTX 700
jcanavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 06:55 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member
 
GO Bob's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
1975 31' Sovereign
Grovetown , Georgia
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
There should be a fuse inside the microwave that blew. Most of the ones I have seen look like the old car ones, glass cylinder. You can pull it out and should see the burnt filloment. make sure you replace it with an AC NOT dc one of the same amps.
__________________
"Humans get a lot done,not because we're smart, but because we have thumbs so we can make coffee." Flash Rosenburg

"Decaffinated coffee is the devil's blend."
GO Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 07:08 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
53flyingcloud's Avatar
 
1984 29' Sovereign
Savannah , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,458
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by GO Bob View Post
There should be a fuse inside the microwave that blew. Most of the ones I have seen look like the old car ones, glass cylinder. You can pull it out and should see the burnt filloment. make sure you replace it with an AC NOT dc one of the same amps.
Excellent suggestion..
__________________
WBCCI 5292 AIR 807
NEU #64
New England Unit
53flyingcloud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 08:10 AM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
wille's Avatar
 
2003 25' Classic
Sarasota , Florida
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to wille Send a message via Yahoo to wille
Sorry, but I am a newby owner. How do I tell if my converter is still outputting voltage to the battery?
__________________
wille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 08:18 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
a volt meter would be best. you can check at the 12v panel or the 12v outlet (round hole usually found near the television antenna connection)
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 09:16 AM   #7
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by wille View Post
Sorry, but I am a newby owner. How do I tell if my converter is still outputting voltage to the battery?
Quote:
Originally Posted by richinny View Post
a volt meter would be best. you can check at the 12v panel or the 12v outlet (round hole usually found near the television antenna connection)
With the trailer plugged in to shore power, yous meter should show around 13.5 volts.
There is also a 120 volt heating element in the fridge.
__________________

__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
microwave


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
microwave compared to a convection microwave. Happycampers Airstream Motorhome Forums 6 02-23-2016 11:58 PM
Fish Fry and Grandparents Rally @ Mystic Springs Oark July 16-19, 2009 greywolf WBCCI Rallies & Events 5 07-22-2009 11:22 PM
fish fry in florida (rally) stanco Member Introductions 2 06-26-2009 06:34 PM
rv microwave??? safari05-25 Stoves, Ovens & Microwaves 23 02-09-2007 02:48 AM
Microwave? Devoman Our Community 5 03-16-2006 09:16 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.