Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Stoves, Ovens & Microwaves
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-18-2004, 05:20 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Adding a microwave to an 87 Sovereign

I recently bought a 1987 25' Sovereign and I'm new to Airstreams. This Sovereign does not have a microwave and we'd like to add one. There's a cabinet above the refer that's not very deep but it appears to have a false press-board back that leads me to believe that there's a bit more space available back there.

Before I tear into this thing and do some damage, I thought I oughta ask and see what others have done about adding microwaves to trailers of this vintage and body style.

Any ideas?
bbrackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2004, 05:30 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1978 31' Sovereign
Texas Airstream Harbor , Zavalla, in the Deep East Texas Piney Woods on Lake Sam Rayburn
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrackman

Before I tear into this thing and do some damage, I thought I oughta ask and see what others have done about adding microwaves to trailers of this vintage and body style.

Any ideas?
Congratulations on your purchase.

I'll make an observation based on my unit.

I have an '87 MH, and the space behind the fridge is necessary for cooling air over the fridge coils, so I don't think you would want to compromise the fridge cooling by invading that space with the back of a microwave.

I know that there are others of that vintage with a microwave installed.

You probably would want to wire in a switch of some sort so that you will not be able to run the AC and the microwave at the same time. This is what was done at the factory to avoid overloading the 30 amp service.

"Suck it up, spend the bucks, do it right the first time."