Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-16-2020, 02:43 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1992 29' Excella
coldstream , British Columbia
Smeg Refrigerator

Hi! I have a question about putting a Smeg fridge into an Airstream. Warning - this is my husband and my first Airstream and our first trailer so we are complete newbies and have a lot to learn! That being said, we decided to bite off more than we can probably chew and buy an old Airstream to renovate. We have decided that we will not be hardcore, boon docking campers so we don't think we need a fridge that has propane capabilities. I'm an interior designer and I love the look of SMEG fridges and how their retro style plays off the Airstream style. Is it foolish of me to invest in one for our Airstream Reno? Is there anything I'm not aware of that might make it a bad decision? I'd appreciate your opinions!
Adrianne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 02:50 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
The problem with an AC only refrigerator is: How are you going to keep your food cool while you are driving down the road?

good luck!
Belegedhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 03:00 PM   #3
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
I would....

Buy an RV fridge.
Then buy a 'retro' insert panel for the door.
It's what we did for our '63 Safari.👍

As noted above, you will need to keep the fridge cold while traveling. Plus AC only may affect resale value.

Bob
🇺🇸
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fullsizeoutput_342.jpeg
Views:	140
Size:	618.9 KB
ID:	359284  
Old 01-16-2020, 03:10 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1969 18' Caravel
Greenville , whereEverIroam
Welcome to Airstream ownership. It's some work to renovate an older trailer, but the enjoyment you'll receive makes it all worth the hassle.