Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Refrigerators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-04-2010, 07:22 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1978 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
SOUTH ANHERST , Ohio
Replacement of a dometic refrigerator

Question i am new to the air steam traveling, never doing this before , i have just purchased a 1975 argosy and will be doing a little remodle , it has real good bones but needs a little up dateing .
I now have a working dometic refrigerator that works fine and i am going to replace it , can one use any small store purchased one or must it be makd for a trailer ?? And thoughts on the issue
thanks george
Gosman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 08:36 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
If it works?

Store bought refers need to be plugged into 120 volt AC. So you would have to run a generator or be plugged into shore power in order for it to work. If you plan to travel long distances it would be hard to keep the contents cold while in route. Why do you want to replace a working refer?
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 06:53 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1978 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
SOUTH ANHERST , Ohio
replacement

Just purchased the trailer and was thinking of replaceing my dometic refrigerator with something newer and a bit smaller to build a counter top , to fit over the new one that would be smaller.

Question though being new to the camping world , how does this dometic refrigerator work? a/c power or what. I have the trailer parked and pluged in to the home and as we speak the refrigerator is running , should I shut it of were we are not going any were and if so how is that done??.