Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2009, 01:18 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
tdveal's Avatar
1972 29' Ambassador
Sherwood , Oregon
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Refrigerator works on gas only

Hi - I'm trying to troubleshoot but not sure which elements are common to both electric and gas. I suspect the thermostat or the lead to the heater. All connections seem to intact.
Any help appreciated.


tdveal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 02:48 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Aerowood's Avatar

1971 21' Globetrotter
Arvada , Colorado
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,685
If it is a two way fridge then there will only be one electrical heating element. If it is a three way then there will be a 12 VDC and a 110 VAC. To check the AC element see if you have 110 VAC power to the wires that go to the element. If you do then chances are the element is bad and will need replaced. That would be the most common problem.

Aerowood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 03:38 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
tdveal's Avatar
1972 29' Ambassador
Sherwood , Oregon
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks. Could it be the element if it works on gas?
tdveal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 03:46 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
tdveal's Avatar
1972 29' Ambassador
Sherwood , Oregon
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
I do have voltage at the connector to the element
tdveal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 04:24 PM   #5
Rivet Master
VIKING's Avatar
1955 22' Flying Cloud
Boulder Creek , California
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,177
Check the thermostat before you replace the heating element. Mine has two thermostats: one for gas and one for electric operation. If the electric thermostat is out or the element is shot the gas side will still work. If neither one works it's a clog or blockage in the refer cooling system, or all the ammonia leaked out.
Try a google search for your model and look for troubleshooting info in the hits. There are sites out there that can help with this.
Rich the Viking
VIKING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:52 PM   #6
Rivet Master
DaveFL's Avatar
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,473
Images: 15
Ours doesn't startup on electric, but if you select gas, let it cool for an hour, then switch to electric, it works. I installed an indoor outdoor thermometer near the top of the refrigerator system, when it is running normal it shows 35 degrees close to the plates. IR thermometer shows 40 degrees when I shoot the opposite wall.
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 06:47 PM   #7
2 Rivet Member
1972 29' Ambassador
Fort McCoy , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 33
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
Take off your rear plastic box that hides the electrical connections. Remove, clean and replace each of them and make sure the ends are in good shape before reconnecting to the holding screws. Of course all power needs to be cut-Your Fridge's controls should only operate on 12 volt. The compressor also has a starter capacitor that may be the issue. If it will work on gas, it will work on ac-something minor IMHO
Good Luck!
Mrwaterway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 07:08 PM   #8
Rivet Master
AIR-Quarius's Avatar
1970 27' Overlander
Espanola , Full Timer
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,751
Images: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to AIR-Quarius Send a message via Skype™ to AIR-Quarius
When we got ours, it too worked on propane only...we asked around and a fellow said there is an element inside the metal chimney that can be seen from the outside and it probably needed replacing...but I will tell you now, we are fine with just using propane. Sometimes the thing works too good. But good luck man finding all that out, those amonia refrigeraters are precious!
AIR-Quarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 09:16 PM   #9
Rivet Master
RichHog's Avatar
2006 25' Safari FB SE
1972 25' Tradewind
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,122
Images: 7

If you have voltage on the element and the element isn't hot, then it would seem to be a bad element. Don't know what the actual voltage is supposed to be there, someone could measure that and you could compare. I take it this is the original Dometic fridge?

RichHog is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Refrigerator help? zadaschwartz Refrigerators 14 05-04-2013 10:32 PM
Gas Refrigerator won't light Emh142 Refrigerators 11 07-07-2008 09:09 PM
gas detector works! thecatsandi LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 4 08-04-2007 09:18 AM
Dometic Fridge works on AC but not gas tubbinator Refrigerators 5 09-12-2006 06:02 PM
servicing gas part of refrigerator nickcrowhurst Refrigerators 3 02-21-2006 07:46 AM

Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.