Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Refrigerators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-31-2010, 07:00 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Johnsonbrg , Pennsylvania
Refrigerator Basics for '66...Help?

OK, I'm a complete novice here. I bought a '66 Overlander last year, but didn't mess with appliances at all. I plugged in the firdge, but it didn't seem to to anything so where do I go from here? I don't know if it runs on electric alone or if it needs gas? I haven't hooked any LP up yet, and I know practically nothing about these systems. I'm planning on installing a new hot water heater (that is, I'm going to mount it, line everything up, and then have a plumber/electrician check everything). This is somewhat of a budget project, so if I can do as much as possible myself that helps. I'm hoping, with all your knowledgabe help, I can get hot water, cold fridge, and hopefully the burners working. The furnace was out of the trailer (I have it in a box), but I planned on an electric heater for now.

Back on topic! Where do I start troubleshooting my fridge? Any suggestions or links to other threads which may have answered these questions would be great.

Thanks, Randy Lindberg
rlindberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:23 PM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
If it is a 2 way (gas or electric) there should be a switch to select which input to use. Flip the switch to electric and then wait several hours and see it the unit starts to cool. The switch may be below the unit or inside the unit and there will be no sound. The freezer area should get cold first.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:59 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member