Old 07-26-2015, 10:30 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
Geismar , Louisiana
Question about using household mini-fridge?

I have a 1966 Caravel that we are trying to get road worthy again and it had a normal looking mini fridge in it that i had thrown away. At the time I didn't realize it could have been a 12v fridge as I am completely new to motorhomes/campers. All I know for sure is the Carabel had a normal electrical plug installed for the unit and the fridge itself had the typical electrical plug you find in your house hold.

We are looking at a regular minifridge you can find at Sears/lowes/ect. since they are pretty affordable and we aren't too worried about running the fridge off the battery alone. My main concern is, is there anything I can damage by doing this? Is there something I should look into or read about before attempting to plug a regular mini fridge in? I am assuming I would have to unplug it while traveling so it doesn't drain the battery or damage the fridge though.

Some other question is if I go with one of these 12v fridges that others have talked about, will I need to run some DC Wiring to the batter or do they work off the normal electrical receptical as well? And could this be left plugged in all the time? Is there normally a switch somewhere in the circuit board area that I would have to flip to toggle between DC and AC Power or is it automatic?

Sorry for being so ignorant about this stuff, I am trying to read the forums to learn some more but it is taking some time learning everything.

Danec020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 10:46 AM   #2
retired USA/USAF

2001 30' Excella
Somerset , New Jersey