Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-23-2011, 10:17 PM   #1

1965 28' Ambassador
Spokane , 99201
Newbie needs help

I just purchased my first travel trailer and it had to be a vintage Airstream. 1965 28 foot ambassador. Really good condition but unfortunately the Dometic m52 fridge does not appear to be working, not that I would even really know how to work the thing since it is 17 years older than I am. Also the furnace pilot light is not working while I think I followed the instructions will not seem to work for me. Really wanting to get my toddler out and about in the near future. Can anyone help?
blanbowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 11:26 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1963 22' Safari
sherman oaks , California
I can finally weigh in on a subject that I have some knowledge about. After such a lomg time of learning from y'all maybe I can give back... but not that helpful..
I have just restored a '62 Safari with a rm 52 dometic refer and it's toast... A beautiful inside with a beautiful global skin and it lights up on propane wonderfully but there is no gas in the heating system in the rear of the appliance and therefore no cooling.
I have not been able to find anyone that can fix that model and everyone says I need to replace it totally with a new refer. I'm reluctant to just give up and pull that baby out and junk it...
Someone help us!
mmenchel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 05:43 AM   #3
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
You can try these people, they rebuild cooling units:
Dometic & Norcold Cooling Units. RV Refrigerator Repair.
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 05:57 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1997 34' Limited
1970 27' Overlander
South of Atlanta , Georgia
I believe you can purchase the new/rebuilt cooling units and install them yourself while retaining the original vintage fridge.
2009 Ford F150 5.4L