Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2012, 05:48 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
Rich of SCal's Avatar
 
2012 16' Sport
San Bernardino , California
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 438
Images: 2
New refrig-Not real cold

I turned on my new refrig days ago and the fan runs most of the time, but it doesn't seem to get real cold. It is cool, but just the same as before I turned it on. It is full of small bottles of water for now. Everything is leveled out almost perfectly. Is there a break in period for a new unit?

The freezer is no colder than the rest of the unit. I put ice cubes in it to see if that might encourage it.
__________________

__________________
Rich of SCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 06:00 PM   #2
Moderator
 
blmitch5's Avatar

 
2006 19' International CCD
Olathe , Kansas
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,221
Images: 1
Hmmm, not sure why it's not cooling? Have you tried it on LP? Maybe there is something wrong with the electric part of it. If its been on for over a day it should be cold. Try the LP and maybe call the dealer. Sorry I wasn't more helpful but ours is similar and cools off overnight.
__________________

__________________
Get involved and sign up for a Rally!
http://www.airforums.com/forums/calendar.php
WBCCI 4973
blmitch5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 06:02 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
vswingfield's Avatar
 
1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind
Little Rock , Arkansas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,771
Images: 32
I agree with blmitch5. That's just not right.

I installed a new fridge in my '83 Excella a couple of years ago. Cools down and makes ice in a few hours. Did so on the first plugin.
__________________
Vaughan
vswingfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 06:12 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
Are you plugged into shore power? If so, open the access panel to the fridge on the outside and make sure the frig is plugged into the regular household outlet that should be in there somewhere. If you have the frig "on" and set to "auto"... it should run on 110 electricity when you are plugged in and will automatically switch to propane when you are not plugged in to electricity (your propane tank needs to be open, of course)...and vice versa when you plug in again. You can also set it to run on propane even while plugged in. If it is plugged in properly in the access area, and still does not get cold, try the propane setting as Brad suggests to see if it works on gas. If it does, there is some issue with the electrical aspect of the unit, if it does not get cold on propane either, there is something going on with the unit as a whole.
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 06:58 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
Rich of SCal's Avatar
 
2012 16' Sport
San Bernardino , California
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 438
Images: 2
Thanks for the replies. I did check the plug and it seems ok. I went out awhile ago to put it on gas only and the freezer seems to be getting colder now. Maybe the ice cubes helped break up the ammonia or something???? The ice was a little melty but I could definitely feel cold spots in the freezer, more than the ice could have caused. I set it to gas only to see if that works.

BTW don't reach behind the fan to see which way its blowing! You will find out how much your fingertip bleeds when its chopped on. Makes it hard to type also.
__________________
Rich of SCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 07:16 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
Good, Rich... if it works on gas at least you'll be able to use it on the trip you're about to make... then you can see what's going on with it when you get back. Running the frig on propane doesn't use a huge amount of propane, so you'll be OK...

BTW, are the other 110 outlets in your rig working when you have it on shore power?
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 07:48 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
Rich of SCal's Avatar
 
2012 16' Sport
San Bernardino , California
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 438
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBRich View Post
Good, Rich... if it works on gas at least you'll be able to use it on the trip you're about to make... then you can see what's going on with it when you get back. Running the frig on propane doesn't use a huge amount of propane, so you'll be OK...

BTW, are the other 110 outlets in your rig working when you have it on shore power?
Yes they are and the fridge power light comes on and I can hear the fan turning off and on.

Yeah I am trying to get ready. It rained today, which slowed me down. I got my tank sanitized and tried my sewer solution before the rain hit.
__________________
Rich of SCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 07:58 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
Well that's good...at least you know the problem does not involve the 110 volt system in general. If it were me and I could get to it easily enough, I'd plug something else into that frig 110 outlet to see if it's "live"...

Did you also test the 110 outlet on the outside of your rig?
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 08:08 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
Rich of SCal's Avatar
 
2012 16' Sport
San Bernardino , California
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 438
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBRich View Post
Well that's good...at least you know the problem does not involve the 110 volt system in general. If it were me and I could get to it easily enough, I'd plug something else into that frig 110 outlet to see if it's "live"...

Did you also test the 110 outlet on the outside of your rig?
no, but I have lights and tv and radio and even ran the a/c briefly.
__________________
Rich of SCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 08:22 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
I don't know how yours is set up, but some of our 110 outlets are on the same GFCI curcuit, and that includes the outside...sometimes when it rains it trips... On ours we reset the GFCI in the main breaker panel where the converter is (rather than resetting them at the outlet)...you have to turn the circuit off and then back on to reset it. If that's what has happened, it's possible that the frig outlet is on a tripped circuit. (The frig lights and fan are on the 12v system so they wouldn't be affected.)
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 08:42 PM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
Rich of SCal's Avatar
 
2012 16' Sport
San Bernardino , California
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 438
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by TBRich View Post
I don't know how yours is set up, but some of our 110 outlets are on the same GFCI curcuit, and that includes the outside...sometimes when it rains it trips... On ours we reset the GFCI in the main breaker panel where the converter is (rather than resetting them at the outlet)...you have to turn the circuit off and then back on to reset it. If that's what has happened, it's possible that the frig outlet is on a tripped circuit. (The frig lights and fan are on the 12v system so they wouldn't be affected.)
oic. well if it starts uncooling I will take another look at the plugs in the morning.
__________________
Rich of SCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:26 PM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
Rich of SCal's Avatar
 
2012 16' Sport
San Bernardino , California
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 438
Images: 2
Well the refrig is toast. It started to cool on Monday. Even started to freeze ice cubes. But then it stopped and now won't cool off at all, at 120 volts or on propane. I reset breakers, tried restarting several times. But nothing works. I checked behind the outside panels and the evaporator is heating up ok but nothing is cooling. Guess I will have to find warranty sevice when I get back home

Also the tank monitor has stopped working. Very disappointing. Not very good quality control for such an expensive trailer.

On the other hand, everything else has worked well...shower, toilet, stove. No rain leaks, warm and cozy every night. Even the digital tv works well. Bed is very comfortable.
__________________
Rich of SCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:40 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
dkottum's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7,716
Our new fridge, the fridge light light would not go out because the switch would not turn it off when we closed the door. Never knew it until it eventually scorched he surrounding interior plastic cabinet. Didn't cool well either with the light providing heat all the time.

Not sure if your fridge has a light, but if it does check the switch and make sure it shuts off the light when you press it in.

doug k
__________________
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:44 PM   #14
4 Rivet Member
 
Rich of SCal's Avatar
 
2012 16' Sport
San Bernardino , California
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 438
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkottum View Post
Our new fridge, the fridge light light would not go out because the switch would not turn it off when we closed the door. Never knew it until it eventually scorched he surrounding interior plastic cabinet. Didn't cool well either with the light providing heat all the time.

Not sure if your fridge has a light, but if it does check the switch and make sure it shuts off the light when you press it in.

doug k
Thanks, but it doesn't have a light. Doesn't have a temp adjust either. It's "automatic".
__________________

__________________
Rich of SCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New refrig-Not real cold Rich of SCal Refrigerators 18 06-03-2012 09:31 PM
New Dometic Heatpump needs help! ExcellaFella Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 11 02-24-2012 08:29 AM
New Lock Inland RV Center, In Commercial Listings 23 02-20-2012 06:22 PM
New member, Hi! CarolinaBlue Member Introductions 2 02-17-2012 09:24 AM
**NEW** 2011 Airstream AVENUE Touring Coach...BELOW INVOICE!!...BLOW OUT SALE!! eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 02-16-2012 09:50 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.