Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2015, 06:47 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 45
Images: 1
Need fridge help, please

We are on the road with our (slightly) used 2015 FC 25FB. We stopped at the dealer on our way out to fix a burner that wasn't working and a small leak under the sink. I thought everything else was working. The fridge didn't seem very cold but the indicator lights were all working. Now 2 days later, clearly the fridge is not working. I do know that it had been working before we picked up our Airstream 3 months ago. I checked outside and the motor is very slightly warm.

Can anyone help? Or do you know a dealer to recommend on the I-40 west of Fairview, TN?

Bonnie
__________________

__________________
BKuhlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 06:53 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Tincampers's Avatar
 
2006 22' Interstate
Sneedville , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,228
What indicators do you have? What setting do you have it on? Are you trying to run it on propane while you drive?
__________________

__________________
Tincampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 07:02 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 45
Images: 1
Indicator reads 'auto' and 'LP' but we are not plugged into electric. Running on LP only. I had it set on 'auto' and '5' for temp. It says 3 1. We are trying to run on LP while we drive.
__________________
BKuhlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 07:06 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Tincampers's Avatar
 
2006 22' Interstate
Sneedville , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,228
Indicators are OK. It should be nice and cold. Is there any ice build up in the fridge or freezer?
__________________
Tincampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 07:10 AM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 45
Images: 1
No ice. Things in freezer were put in frozen solid on Thursday night. I had precooled it Wed. night (I thought), but there was no frost inside when I put things in. It just felt cool. Now everything in the freezer is defrosted. Things in fridge are slightly cooler than last night, but still doesn't feel cold and there's no frost in fridge or freezer.
__________________
BKuhlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 07:14 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
paiceman's Avatar

 
2017 30' Classic
Upper St Clair , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,434
Images: 1
We use a thermometer to check actual temp inside. Set it to highest cooling level and see if it cools off any. The temp control could be off.
__________________
SAFE TRAVELS
2017 30' Classic - F350 6.7 Diesel Crew
USAF - Military Training Instructor (TI) - 68-72
paiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 07:16 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Tincampers's Avatar
 
2006 22' Interstate
Sneedville , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,228
He said it is set on 5 and is reading 31. I wonder if there could be an obstruction in the fridge vent.
__________________
Tincampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 07:20 AM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 45
Images: 1
I don't think it's saying the temp is 31, it reads 'dot'3, 'dot'1. Dots being the indicators for auto and LP. Temp settings are 1-5. I set it at 5. I don't know if it registers in increments (e.g. 3.4).
__________________
BKuhlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 07:25 AM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 45
Images: 1
We are going to go get ice and put everything in coolers for now. I'll check back shortly. And I do appreciate the gracious help on a Sunday morning
__________________
BKuhlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 07:31 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Tincampers's Avatar
 
2006 22' Interstate
Sneedville , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,228
The dots indicate that it is set for auto and LP. 5 is the coldest setting.
__________________
Tincampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 07:43 AM   #11
Some Guy
 
djarrett's Avatar

 
2018 28' Tommy Bahama
Nashville , Tennessee
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 273
If Fairview, you are not far from Nashville. Camping World on Music Valley Drive (near Opryland Hotel) is open on Sunday's and an authorized dealer for Dometic.

You should be able to get them to look at it today. My guess is your gas flame went out while driving, but that is simply a guess.

D
__________________
The Jarretts
Nashville, Tennessee
2018 27' Tommy Bahama
2015 F250 TV-Petrol
WBCCI # 22342
djarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 11:01 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
batman's Avatar

 
1964 22' Safari
modesto , California
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 561
A Dometic fix. You can try to reset the refer controls by disconnecting all power 110v and 12v (battery terminals) for 10 minutes then reconnect the power. Hope that helps.

-Dennis
__________________
batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 11:46 AM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
2012 22' FB Sport
Lake Forest , California
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 18
Good luck. Our 2015 25' flying cloud has been in the shop with frig problems no less then five times. In fact it's in there now. Come on Dometic, spring for a new one. This is killing us!
__________________
HrLola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 11:51 AM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 23' Flying Cloud
Eagle Creek , OR
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 86
Send a message via Skype™ to almcate
Had a similar thing happen to ours. Screen indicated power to the computer ship that runs the fridge, but didn't get a temperature read out. Like the furnace or water heater, I know that if propane runs out, you have to shut off any of the three to reset the thermostat control and shutting off the fridge and turning back on wasn't doing the trick.

Someone here suggested batman's fix (actually, you only need to put the power switch to store from use, and if on shore power, disconnect) to COMPLETELY shut power off to the fridge computer chip. Kind of like the difference between a warm reboot/restart of a computer and a full shutdown restart to clear out the cobwebs to reboot the fridge chip.
__________________

__________________
__________________
Question: better to be a successful pessimist or a failed optimist?
Al & Robin
2018 Airstream 23FB Flying Cloud
2011 F250 XLT 6.2L FlexFuel SD, 4WD
almcate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making a 2-way Fridge into a 3-way Fridge? Bunkroom Refrigerators 18 06-03-2014 05:37 PM
Fridge Vent and Fridge 12V DC wiring rodsterinfl Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 05-03-2014 10:33 PM
Please help - opinion please - 1967 caravel for $1000 knishiya Airstream Trailer Forums 5 05-11-2012 10:33 PM
Need Fridge...can Solar keep up with an Electric Only Fridge??? chowman2011 Refrigerators 13 05-17-2011 09:59 PM
Small fridge to large fridge ? 4tumbleweed Refrigerators 3 07-04-2010 07:44 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.