Old 11-10-2011, 05:34 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
1968 28' Ambassador
Debary , Florida
My Refrigerator thinks it's an Oven

I have a 1968 Ambassador with a Dometic RM1303. I had purchased the trailer a few years ago as a project and my buddy has “shamed” me into going camping this Thanksgiving, so I have pulled it out of storage and I am going though the systems so I can make it operable for some basic camping.

I fired up the fridge on shore power and the green light comes on and you can tell the heater is working as the fridge gets very warm on the inside and you can hear an occasional gurgle coming from the fridge. From reading some different sources out there I have seen where you can get a re manufactured coil unit for the fridge. Has anyone had any experience with these???? is it more trouble than it is worth and should I just spring for a new fridge????? or is there a possible fix I should try before I proceed any further????

cvpfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 06:27 PM   #2
Rivet Master
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Most likely the refrig is toast. The question of a rebuilt unit vs. a new refrig is never going to have a definitive answer. The rebuilt units require at least to have the refrig removed from the AS and replaced, after the cooling unit is itself removed and replaced from the box. Cost is about half to 2/3 the cost of a new refrig, if you do the work yourself. Then you still have an old refrig, with a rebuilt cooling unit, with maybe a 2 year guarantee, at best.

But a new refrig is costly, and in general only has a 3 year warrantee on the cooling unit.

I might note that neither of the major refrigerator makers for RV's either offers or sanctions rebuilt cooling units for some reason, be it cost, profit, liability or whatever. I guess they just don't think they are cost effective from their viewpoint.