Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Refrigerators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-11-2013, 06:52 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
Monitoring Fridge Performance

I recently installed a new Dometic RM2510 fridge. I was measuring the interior temperature inside using a digital thermometer. I am a home inspector, so I have this tool available. Normal home fridge temperature readings are generally in the 32-38 degree range. If it is colder than this, the fridge is generally set too low and if it is hotter than 40 degrees it may be set too high or there is a problem with fridge operation. Anything higher than 40 degrees is a concern for me as it will not keep the food cold enough in my opinion. I usually flag this as a problem area.

Anyhow, I had the fridge set on 6 and the temperature inside was about 35 degrees. The outside temperature was about 80-85 and this seemed like a decent setting. However, I checked the temperature the next morning and it was 28 degrees. Yikes! This is way too cold.