Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2012, 09:16 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 16' International CCD
Ontario , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Fridge on 110 V

Had a question regarding powering the refrigerator in our '06 Bambi on 110 V.
We've always camped at no hook-up sites and used the propane to power the fridge. Well, I plugged it in at home to charge it, turned the fridge on to the AUTO setting and it would not cool. The propane tanks were empty.
So, do the propane tanks need to be full even when operating on 110 V?
__________________

__________________
Chad J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 09:31 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
No, the propane tanks do not have to be full to run it on 120 volts. However, if your batteries were dead or very low the 12 volt electronics to run the valves and relays might not have been getting a high enough voltage to operate them, and thus no 120 volt cooling. This is the only possibility I can think of, other than a defective 120 volt heating element.

Oh, of course the outlet and circuit the refrigerator is plugged into must be getting power. Are all the circuits working properly?
__________________

__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:56 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 16' International CCD
Ontario , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Trailer is plugged in to household current, gotta fully charged battery, propane turned off and the switch set to AUTO but the CHECK light keeps coming on. I can hear the pilot clicking and trying to ignite.
__________________
Chad J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:42 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Pahaska's Avatar
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Hays County , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,822
Images: 3
You are probably not getting 120v to the refrigerator . The check light and ignition only occur when the electronics in the refrigerator do not sense 120v.

The problem could be a popped breaker or possibly the refrigerator has come unplugged from the AC outlet. Try unplugging the refrigerator and plugging a lamp into the socket. If the lamp does not light, then it is the breaker or a wiring problem. If the lamp lights, then the electronics in the refrigerator may be at fault.
__________________
John W. Irwin
2014.5 Touring Coach, "Sabre-Dog IV"
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:52 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Goal15's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,673
Images: 1
How long did you let it run for?

Chad?

How long did you let it sit on 110V before deciding it wouldn't cool?

I know on our 2006 it takes at least 4 hours for either gas or electric to start cooling.

I was suspicious because i pretty much rely on propane on the road to keep it cool, but prior to our last trip we had Thumper home for an extra day, so i plugged it into shore and turned the gas off and had put it on auto and by the next morning it was cold and freezer was freezing.

so sometimes it can be a function of how long you let it run.

Dana
__________________
Dana and Olga
2006 Safari 23
2011 Tundra Double Cab
Goal15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 10:36 AM   #6
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 16' International CCD
Ontario , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
It was plugged in for at least 4 hrs...but the CHECK light comes on after a few mins. Am I right that it's not gonna come on if the CHECK light is on?
__________________
Chad J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 10:46 AM   #7
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
If you confirm that there is 120v power to the refrigerator and it's still trying to use the propane system, verify that the control board is working properly. Lots of people with those newfangled auto-switching fridges end up running aftermarket boards for greater reliability.
__________________
— David

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto — 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 01:14 PM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
damonbeals's Avatar
 
1998 31' Excella 1000
1979 23' Safari
Mooresville , Indiana
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 473
Correct the check light means the fridge is not working. For it to work on 120V it does need 12V Battery power, but if the check light is coming on then you do have 12V power to the fridge. But it does sound like the fridge doesn't know it's plugged into 120V AC power, so either it's not plugged in or a fuse or breaker could be blown. Check the back of your fridge and test the 120V AC outlet for power.

It could be a bad control board but usually it works or doesn't.

Damon
__________________
damonbeals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:32 PM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 16' International CCD
Ontario , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Thanks all. Will check after work today.
__________________
Chad J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:42 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,883
Also DO try to switch from AUTO to ELECTRIC - just in case the "AUTO" switch is shot.

Do the inexpensive easy stuff FIRST.

Circuit breakers often look like they are on when they've flipped. To reset a breaker you must push it all the way down - to the OFF position, then turn back ON.

Paula
__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 11:14 AM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 16' International CCD
Ontario , California
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Ok, dumb question.
Where the heck are the breakers in this thing?
__________________
Chad J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 12:28 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,441
110-volt circuit breakers and 12-volt fuses are located in the converter panel. I'm unfamiliar with the 16-foot Airstream, but most likely there is a black box about a foot square located near the floor, beneath a closet or cabinet door that has at least 6-12 inches of clearance (in depth) from the wall.

There is a little, square 1/4-turn fastener that unlocks the converter door. It may take a little jiggling to get it open after turning the fastener 1/4 turn. The breakers and fuses are inside the cover.
__________________

__________________
Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.