Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2015, 11:27 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
2011 19' Flying Cloud
Renton , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 149
Fridge issue?

Relative newbie. Couldn't find this info in owners manual.
If you're plugged in, shouldn't fridge work without propane?
Didn't notice this was an issue before but when fridge is on auto it still 'clicks' like trying to light off gas. Checked breakers and fuses and ok. Does gas have to be on?
__________________

__________________
orange kayak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 11:45 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Gsmblue's Avatar
 
2015 25' Flying Cloud
Bend , Oregon
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 553
You have to select the correct mode on the fridge. On mine have 2 options:

1. propane only
2. Auto mode. Will use propane until you plug in to shore power, then will switch electric.

hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
http://britishairstream.blogspot.com
Mad Astrophysicist turned sales guy that works to fund his dirty snowbaording habbit, mwah-ha-ha . . .
Gsmblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 11:47 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Gsmblue's Avatar
 
2015 25' Flying Cloud
Bend , Oregon
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 553
Sorry, I am tired and did not read properly.

Propane can be off and the electric should work. Are you getting an error code? It will take time for the electric heater to warm up and produce cooling.
__________________
http://britishairstream.blogspot.com
Mad Astrophysicist turned sales guy that works to fund his dirty snowbaording habbit, mwah-ha-ha . . .
Gsmblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 11:54 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
SSquared's Avatar
 
2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 495
My trailer is a different model from yours, but I can share a few basic points.

1) When you have shore power, the propane does not need to be on.
2) Assuming your fridge's automatic mode is like mine, when it senses 120 volt power, it will run on 120 volt power, regardless of whether propane is on (if the fridge is set to automatic)
3) Given #2, if your fridge is clicking because it is trying to spark, either it is set to run on propane, or there is something wrong with the power supply to the fridge.

There are a few simple things to check
1) Do you have 120 volt power anywhere in your trailer? If not, check the outside power connections and breaker. Also, check the 30amp breaker in your trailer.
2) In some Airstream owner's manuals, there is an electrical chapter that will tell you what breaker the fridge is on, and what items share a circuit breaker with your fridge. Check that breaker and see if those other things have power.
3) In many cases, the fridge gets its 120 volt power from an outlet in the back of the fridge. Stick your head in there, look up and all around (use a flashlight even) and you should find it. Make sure the plug is securely inserted.

My 2013 Flying Cloud owner manual says the fridge for the 19 is on breaker number 4, along with the outlets for the television, bathroom, outside, kitchen, and dinette.
__________________
SSquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 01:44 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member
 
2011 19' Flying Cloud
Renton , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 149
Thank you. I'll check the outlets tonight.
__________________
orange kayak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 01:53 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
AnnArborBob's Avatar
 
2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,763
Images: 12
You have a relatively new Airstream so I am going to assume that your fridge can be set to run on "auto" or "gas-only" mode. To have the fridge work on electric when plugged in and gas when not, the setting should be set for auto, not gas. if it is set on gas and the gas is off it will not run even if you are plugged into AC.
__________________
Bob Martel
WBCCI# 5766
AnnArborBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 02:33 PM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
2011 19' Flying Cloud
Renton , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 149
Thanks. In either mode I hear it click to spark when I turn it on. Must be electrical connection somewhere. I didn't think to check outlets.
__________________
orange kayak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 02:55 PM   #8
Overland Adventurer
 
AtomicNo13's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
2009 34' Panamerica
Telluride , Colorado
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,885
Just to confirm....
Even on gas the fridge must have a sound 12 volt power source, on 110v and gas sources.

The fridge has some relays that you'll hear clicking at start up and as the electronic thermostat reaches both upper and lower thresholds.
__________________
AtomicNo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 02:57 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
AnnArborBob's Avatar
 
2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,763
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange kayak View Post
Thanks. In either mode I hear it click to spark when I turn it on. Must be electrical connection somewhere. I didn't think to check outlets.
It should not click in dual mode if you have a good AC connection so my guess is that you are not getting AC to the fridge for any of the reasons noted in an earlier post. After you check your shore power and the breakers in the trailer and confirm that all is OK, I would plug a small light into the AC socket in the back of the fridge to see if it works. The outlet should be accessible via the panel door outside the trailer behind the fridge. If the light does not work, you know that there is a problem between the breaker and the fridge plug. If the light does work, then you are likely looking at calling in a professional RV fridge tech.
__________________
Bob Martel
WBCCI# 5766
AnnArborBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 04:51 PM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
2011 19' Flying Cloud
Renton , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 149
Great info. I'll follow up on here after checking tonight. Fridge is working on gas, thankfully.
__________________
orange kayak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 05:53 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
AnnArborBob's Avatar
 
2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,763
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange kayak View Post
Great info. I'll follow up on here after checking tonight. Fridge is working on gas, thankfully.
Based on this, I'm willing to bet that the AC outlet is not getting power for whatever reason.

Good luck and keep us posted!
__________________
Bob Martel
WBCCI# 5766
AnnArborBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 08:34 PM   #12
3 Rivet Member
 
2011 19' Flying Cloud
Renton , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 149
Arg! Whatever I did I just made it worse! As per owners manual I unplugged fridge, disconnected d/c wires and opened fridge fuse box. All looked good. Red wire touched metal while disconnected and sparked. Hooked back up and no fridge power. Did test of 20a gfci and it tripped and won't turn back on. : ( Might be a cooler weekend.
__________________
orange kayak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 08:49 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
richw46's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Lexington , Kentucky
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,175
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange kayak View Post
Arg! Whatever I did I just made it worse! As per owners manual I unplugged fridge, disconnected d/c wires and opened fridge fuse box. All looked good. Red wire touched metal while disconnected and sparked. Hooked back up and no fridge power. Did test of 20a gfci and it tripped and won't turn back on. : ( Might be a cooler weekend.
You have blown a 12v fuse and you probably don't have 110vac at the fridge plug. Check your owners manual for the right fuse for the fridge 12vdc supply. Check your 110 circuit breakers too, one may be thrown but looks OK. turn them off then back on again. You need one electric supply or the other.

If the breakers are OK, plug something into to the wall plug on the outside that the fridge plugs into. A cell phone charger would be good, plug that in and see if your phone starts to charge

If you have an extension cord, plug the fridge into that and then to the AC supply on the post and make sure the breaker is turned on. That will get you through the night.
__________________
-Rich

Rich & Yvonne
2006 Safari SE -Dora-
2004 4Runner SE

richw46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 09:04 PM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
2011 19' Flying Cloud
Renton , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 149
I left in frustration. Thank you. I'll check when I get back. : )
__________________

__________________
orange kayak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace issue turns out to be AS issue 92landyacht Land Yacht/Legacy Motorhomes 16 01-20-2016 11:19 PM
fridge issue solved just an easy fyi Bex General Appliance Topics 1 08-17-2014 10:04 PM
Dometic Fridge issue vicn2000 Airstream Trailer Forums 1 05-02-2012 11:15 AM
Need Fridge...can Solar keep up with an Electric Only Fridge??? chowman2011 Refrigerators 13 05-17-2011 09:59 PM
Small fridge to large fridge ? 4tumbleweed Refrigerators 3 07-04-2010 07:44 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.