Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2015, 10:48 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
1969 23' Safari
Athens , Georgia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 127
Cool Dumb Question

How do I connect my 12 v refer wires to my battery!
__________________

sarasafari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 11:08 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
mimiandrews's Avatar

 
1966 22' Safari
Weatherford , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,482
Are you talking about 12v power to control the fridge circuit board, or is it 12v power to operate the fridge cooling unit itself?

BTW, questions are not dumb. Trying to do something without asking the question, now that's dumb!
__________________

mimiandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 11:57 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member
 
1969 23' Safari
Athens , Georgia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 127
It was the wires connecting the refer unit to the battery. Got that one figured out, but now the blinking light won't go off while trying to use on gas mode. Just keeps clicking. Instructions say to depress ignition button til light goes out. It keeps clicking and blinking.
sarasafari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 12:24 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
airdreamers's Avatar
 
2008 28' International
Venice , Florida
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 647
Images: 14
Sounds like an ignition problem or there is no gas going into the frig to ignite. 1st check and make sure there is gas to the frig, if so, go to ignition problem (electrical). Good luck.
__________________
Bill and Janice, We're lovin' it! (Airstreaming)

Airdreamers

WBCCI #8880
AIR #41310
airdreamers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 12:37 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by airdreamers View Post
Sounds like an ignition problem or there is no gas going into the frig to ignite. 1st check and make sure there is gas to the frig, if so, go to ignition problem (electrical). Good luck.
Agree - and sometimes there is AIR in the propane line, or moisture. To clear air, Turn your stove on and manually light it. Let it run 30 to 60 seconds and turn it off. Then try the fridge again.

DO look at the propane line in the fridge, there may be a cutoff valve, and if the gas isn't on... well obvious problem.

If there is water in the line, you might hear gurgling in the propane line when you get underneath it. Just find the end of the line and open it after jacking the front end up so that the water will run backwards to the low point. Test for leak after you close up.
__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 01:22 PM   #6
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,216
Images: 25
We know what trailer you have, but would you please share with us what make and model the refer is?

Most are Dometic brand, but if it's original to the trailer, all bets are off.
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 02:58 PM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
1969 23' Safari
Athens , Georgia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 127
I'm going to get thrown off of this forum. I had the gas turned off. ������
I've been working on this trailer for over 5years and am finally seeing the light at end of tunnel and am so excited that I can't think straight.
So I got the gas lit, let's see if it cools. BTW, while I was scratching my head over the gas issue, I was trying to run the refer on elec. but it never cooled down even one degree, over about 3hours time. Yes, I have it plugged into a high volt plug-don't know if it's 50 or 30. Refer is 2011 Dometic 2510, 2 way. But it's never been used or tested because of various personal issues which delayed me working on it. Oh, and thanks!����
sarasafari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 03:27 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
garry's Avatar
 
1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,379
Images: 7
50 amp is a four prong plug and 30 is a 3 prong plug. Your AS should be 3 prong 120V 30 amp service. NEVER plug into a 220V outlet.

The control board for the frig works off 12VDC.
Do you have the frig control set for auto? The frig usually works on electric and defaults to gas when the Airstream is not plugged in to 120VAC.

Do you have the electric cord at the rear of the frig plugged in to a 120V outlet?

Could be the electric element that heats the frig is burnt out.
__________________
Garry
garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 05:47 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
airdreamers's Avatar
 
2008 28' International
Venice , Florida
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 647
Images: 14
Glad it was an easy fix. Most of my issues turn out to be projects. I am about to finally have a good time traveling with our Airstreamer!! Longest trip with it coming up!
__________________
Bill and Janice, We're lovin' it! (Airstreaming)

Airdreamers

WBCCI #8880
AIR #41310
airdreamers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 10:59 AM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
1969 23' Safari
Athens , Georgia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 127
Garry, it is 30 amp. Yes, the unit is plugged into a 120 v outlet. I checked the outlet and it is good. My unit does not have an auto setting. It's either off, gas, or electric. The gas is working, not the electric. Where would be the electric element? Could it be burnt out if it was never used? Any other ideas, folks?
sarasafari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 12:09 PM   #11
retired USA/USAF

 
2001 30' Excella
Somerset , New Jersey
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,209
Electric troubleshooting begins with the elementary things. Sometimes obvious, sometimes not so much. Find the 12v fuses and check them all with a test light. Sometimes they look good but are not. Start with the simple stuff and work up from there.
__________________
Roger in NJ

" Democracy is the worst form of government. Except for all the rest"
Winston Churchill 1948

TAC - NJ 18

polarlyse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 12:12 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Gainesville , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,794
Blog Entries: 2
Is the fridge plugged into a 120 outlet? In the back somewhere. Jim
xrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2015, 11:35 AM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
1969 23' Safari
Athens , Georgia
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 127
Jim, yes it is plugged in and the outlet is good. Roger, where are the 12 v fuses?
__________________

sarasafari is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumb,dumb, and dumber rebel beck Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 13 04-03-2006 11:11 AM
??Dumb generator question?? sjptak Generators & Solar Power 22 06-24-2003 05:24 AM
Dumb Question regarding the bed & sheets kamadeca 2003 Safari 8 06-23-2003 02:24 PM
My dumb question about holding tanks JaceBeck Our Community 6 12-07-2002 01:22 AM
Dumb question - 345LE - does the gennie charge the auto battery? williamhenshall General Motorhome Topics 6 08-26-2002 05:49 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.