Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Refrigerators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-06-2009, 04:40 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2007 25' International CCD FB
Newport Beach , California
Dometic RM3762 turns off

Hi all! I'm a newbie, just bought a 2007 25' Ocean Breeze. LOVE it!

I'm on my second trip and the fridge (on LP) has turned off both times while traveling... Is this normal? I called Dometic last week to ask for manuals for the fridge, AC and thermostat... They said they would email them, but haven't yet. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if there's something up. Any help would be much appreciated!
oceanair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 06:37 PM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Welcome to the forums.
My guess is the wind created by going down the road is blowing out the burner. When this happens, the fridge will attempt relighting a set number of times (I think 3 attempts), then it will shut down, and the "check" light (if equipped) will turn on. You would have to cycle the fridge off, then on, to get it to relight.
Some Airstreams are more prone to the fridge burner blowing out than others. You may be able to make some modifications to help it stay lit, but it is something that, while many (most) people travel with the fridge on LP, it is officially frowned upon, and you may have trouble getting help repairing the condition.
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 06:53 PM   #3
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Yes, if your fridge has the check light coming on, that means the unit has tried several times to relight and failed.