Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2009, 09:25 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1989 29' Excella
Boerne , Texas
Dometic RM2811 info needed -- running on LP

Greetings, Mario here.

I am new to the airstream space, and am grateful for all the information on this site. It has come in handy several times already. I need some assistance on troubleshooting an issue I am having with my refridge. It runs perfectly on shore power, but it won't start or run on LP.

I have verified the fuses on the controller board, also, I ignited the LP with a lighter during the 45 seconds it tries to start, but the LP always stops when I turn off the lighter. I do not see any "sparkles" during the ignition (45 second) period. I have two full #30 tanks, only one of them is currently open feeding LP to the trailer.

Anyway, I suspect I might have a bad controller, but don't want to put out the $ until I am fairly sure. So, is there any testing methods I can use to test it completely? My issues are; 1) why won't the unit ignite the LP at start-up, and 2) why won't it stay lit after I manually light it?

Any input is greatly appreciated, and I thank you in advance.

Regards,
Mario

1989 Excella 29'
2000 Ford Diesel F250 (330,000 miles)
maroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 09:49 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
I just retrofitted an igniter on a fridge last week, I can tell you what I had to make sure of so it would work. I had to make sure the wire to the igniter was connected, the igniter was located so the flame of the pilot would heat it (feedback for the board),and the igniter was not touching anything metal. That would short out the igniter, and it wouldn't spark.
Old 08-23-2009, 03:02 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1989 29' Excella
Boerne , Texas
Terry, Problem Solved!!!!