Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2004, 12:56 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
Dometic doesn't cut on

It was installed new in '95.

I plugged it in to shore power, it ran fine for a day, freezer is very cold, then suddenly it cut off. Does not respond to the power button, no response at all, no lights flash.

I checked the 120V fuses, rather the breakers and they were all set to on. What is going on and what can be done about it?
__________________

__________________
Justice - When you get what you deserve. Mercy - When you don't get what you deserve
Grace - When you get what you don't deserve
ipso_facto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 04:48 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
TomW's Avatar
 
1967 26' Overlander
Huntsville , Alabama
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,918
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipso_facto
...no response at all, no lights flash...
If there are no lights period (do you have a "power on" light?), then you need to check for 120 vac at the refrigerator's outlet.

If you have power, my first thought is a bad thermostat.

On my Dometic, there are two thermostats - One for LPG operation, and one for 120 vac operation. If you also have two knobs, try running your unit on gas & see if it cools.

Tom
__________________

__________________
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 10:25 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
That's right, there are no lights, period - it's acting as if it's not plugged in at all. Yet I have shore power, confirmed by running 110V appliances.

It's not responding on gas either.

Where do I check for power, on the outside?
__________________
Justice - When you get what you deserve. Mercy - When you don't get what you deserve
Grace - When you get what you don't deserve
ipso_facto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 11:11 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
LOST , Hawaii
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,193
You also need 12v, even if it isn't 3 way. Make sure that and 120v are at the refrigerator.

John
__________________
74Argosy24MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 03:31 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 65
ipso_facto,

I had trouble with my '95 Dometic a few years back. Similar to you, both the 120 VAC and 12 VDC sources checked out fine and it would not work on propane either. All signs pointed to a defected main circuit board.

The 120 VAC heating rod is controled, switched on and off, by the main circuit board. After diconnecting the control board from both AC and DC, I diconnected the leads to the heating rod and made a 120 VAC cord set using the same type connectors. I plugged the heating rod via the cord set into the 120 VAC outlet that normally feeds the control board. If the refrigerator got cold that proved that the heating rod was good and the board was bad. If the refrigerator still did not get cold, either the heating rod was also bad or you have major refrigerant problems. I replaced the main board and it is still working.

I still carry that cord set and the a spare heating rod. If I or anyone else has a problem with their Dometic Refrigerator and they have 120 VAC available, I can get them going again. They just have to unplug the cord every so often or everything will freeze. You have to be the thermostat. Generally a new board can be secured within a days drive or overnight via UPS or FEDEX. This device has saved vacations and often leads to free drinks and meals from a gratefull camper's wife!

Good luck.
__________________
et
diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2004, 07:55 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Condoluminum's Avatar
 
1988 25' Excella
Sunnyvale , California
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,858
Images: 13
Send a message via AIM to Condoluminum
Board could fix it..

Dometic factory "control boards" had circuits embedded in plastic compound that is often prone to overheating. Symptoms are operation for up to a day or so, then hard cutoff.. Unplugging main power, and waiting a few hours will often enable board to start up again, but would shut off again, either on gas or 110V power. If that doesn't work, I'd join votes that either a 12V fuse or 110V breaker has failed interrupting power to the refrigerator...

Several threads in this area with sources, and I'd definitely consider replacement board (Dragon??) at ~$110 before letting RV dealer or shop sell brand new Refrigerator (which is their preferred repair..).

John McG
__________________

__________________
Condoluminum

In Theory, there's no difference between Theory and Practice, but in Practice, there is usually a difference...
Condoluminum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
domestic fridge problem nightowlhooter1 Refrigerators 7 05-11-2016 11:25 AM
dometic fridge problem nightowlhooter1 Refrigerators 27 08-19-2006 06:06 PM
Sovereign 1992: Want to cut a window in the roof. Has anyone experience? Hans Roof 20 01-18-2003 06:23 PM
Question re how to cut aluminum sheeting and get a clean edge... williamhenshall Ribs, Skins & Rivets 7 06-12-2002 06:58 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.