Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-21-2010, 02:29 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 26
Atlanta, , Georgia
Question do i have to defrost fridge every month?

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to the forums and to owning an Airstream.

I have recently bought a '76, 26' Argosy and I believe it has the original fridge in it. It is currently at a restoration guy's place.

A few questions I need some help with regarding this fridge:

He told me that I would probably have to defrost this fridge about once a month.

1. Is this true? If so why?

2. How does one defrost this kind of fridge correctly, just turn it off and open up the doors and then let be open for...um how long? and then close everything and turn it back on?

3. Is it also true that the trailer has to be very level before it will work? I will be doing some driveway living for a year or so in the trailer a concrete drive way.

Thanks,
Brian
BrianD. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 02:40 PM   #2
Wise Elder

2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianD. View Post
Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to the forums and to owning an Airstream.

I have recently bought a '76, 26' Argosy and I believe it has the original fridge in it. It is currently at a restoration guy's place.

A few questions I need some help with regarding this fridge:

He told me that I would probably have to defrost this fridge about once a month.

1. Is this true? If so why?
Yes, more in humid weather, more when you open the door a lot, more of the door seals are leaking. Less in dry weather, etc.

Fridges work by having part of the fridge below freezing which cools the rest down. Most fridges for stick houses have a timer that does it automatically every 12 or 24 hours, during which the temperature in the fridge spikes by 20 degrees or so.

Quote: