Old 03-04-2012, 07:17 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
1969 25' Tradewind
Fletcher , North Carolina
Can older Dometic Refrigerators be restored?

Is the original Dometic Refrigerator in my 1969 Tradewind something that can be restored. Can they be restored at a reasonable price?

Here2day Air2morrow
here2day is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 07:26 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
2001 16' Bambi
2013 23' International
Piedmont Region , North Carolina
Call This Place

I have no personal knowledge of these folks but check out their site and maybe give them a call. Good thing is that they are not too far away from you. In Fort Mill, SC. Just across the state line, south of Charlotte.

RV Refrigerator Repair| Rebuilt Cooling Unity- Appliance Repair | Fort Mill, SC

tinbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 08:10 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
1969 25' Tradewind
Fletcher , North Carolina
Thank you tinbender, I will check them out. I want to keep as much of my original Trailer so if restoring makes sense I am going to go with it.
Here2day Air2morrow
here2day is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 04:36 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
1959 26' Overlander
Hill Country , Texas
I have the original 1959 LP-only fridge working in my Overlander. I had it pressure-checked by two different people, just to be sure: no leaks, and it cools like crazy. I did have to find a replacement door gasket and make some repairs to the interior door. And I have to keep the setting pretty low or things freeze. Also, I created a fresh-air vent in the access door, and an exhaust vent behind and slightly above the unit. There was NO intake before, and only exhaust was through a gap in wall insulation leading to small roof vent. Serious scorching in the wall led me to do something different!
My research on LP refrigerators indicates they can last a looooong time. There are even places that can make new ammonia-filled cooling units for them.