Old 02-25-2007, 12:41 PM   #1

1970 27' Overlander
Silverton , Oregon
1970 Overlander Fridge

HI

I just purchase a 1970 Overlander. It's missing the fridge. The last one caught on Fire?? I would like to just put a modern fridge in the same space. I am new to Airstreaming and am not familar with fridges that vent from the floor to the ceiling. My trailers in the past have all vented out the side. Are there special fridges that vent this way or will any of them work?? I would like to avoid the hazards of the previous owner. The space I have is approx 24X24X40.

Thanks

David

Old 02-25-2007, 01:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
Sunnyvale , California
Send a message via AIM to Condoluminum
Welcome//

David-

Welcome to forums, and hope little bitty fire did no further damage...

Several pieces of advice until refrigerator wizards might weigh in...

Current RV refrigerators are Dometic and Norcold.. Both have websites and you should cruise them to see what options there are.. Some folks put in electric (110V only) mini-fridges, but that would limit your ability to travel away from places with electrical hookups. Might be an issue, might not...

Any dual-source fridge (Propane burner or 110V heating rod) will need some venting, and most do have vertical vent through roof, just invisible on flat-sided RV's. Blocked vent flue could be contributor to fire problems... Most also have vented side panel for access and inflow of cooler air, which is what you see on side of RV.

Finally, you should practice your "searching" skills here, using search tab in blue bar above.. Click and then type in words like fridge and refrigerator and replacement and install and dometic in combinations and see what threads come up to read. May take some time, but rest assured you are not the first with a need to install a new refrigerator...

Good luck

John

In Theory, there's no difference between Theory and Practice, but in Practice, there is usually a difference...