Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Safari > 1969 - 1973 Safari
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-15-2012, 06:27 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1973 23' Safari
1977 23' Safari
2018 25' Flying Cloud
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium
Safari #2 -- 1973

Safari #1 is going slowly, so I thought I could find one in good shape and be on the road with it in a couple of weeks. Oops! It looked pretty good until I got under it.

So here we start the saga of Safari #2. I've been pestering this owner for 3 years and he finally realized he had let it sit too long. It is now my problem. All I can say is, it looked pretty good sitting in the storage area--here I am checking the fresh tank.

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010307 nice shell-s.jpg
Views:	292
Size:	131.4 KB
ID:	161100

And here it is on our new lot, along with the grader that is preparing courtesy parking.

Name:	DSCN0021 two new projects-s.jpg
Views:	293
Size:	172.8 KB
ID:	161101

The fresh tank appeared to leak badly, so getting it out was the first priority. The rust is thick and flakey, but the steel, although badly pitted, seems to be strong. I may have to sister it with additional angles once I get the grinder on it. Getting the tank out was a nightmare. I couldn't budge the supporting plywood, so I tore the covering aluminum away so I could rout a cup into the plywood and use a sledge hammer. That didn't work either,so I finally used a skill saw to cut nearly through the curb and street side edges, then pulled the front edge down enough to get the tank out. The plyood was completely rotten along the front edge and most of the curb and street sides.

Name:	P1010304 rust-s.jpg
Views:	377
Size:	229.5 KB
ID:	161102

Name:	P1010310 fresh tank-s.jpg