Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-30-2004, 02:29 PM   #1

2004 25' Safari
Wyckoff , New Jersey
Winter Towing - NJ to Florida

I am looking for advice regarding winter towing to Florida. I plan to travel to Key West from NJ on or about December 27. It's my first year with the Airstream and I'm concerned about traveling if we happen to have a lot of snow at that time.
I am considering taking the trailer to North Carolina in October since my daughter lives outside of Raleigh. The idea is that we could pick up the trailer there when we go to Florida and have less chance of having to tow in bad weather.
Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions regarding this trip?
tlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 02:39 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1978 31' Sovereign
Texas Airstream Harbor , Zavalla, in the Deep East Texas Piney Woods on Lake Sam Rayburn
Advice -

....this is what I would do....first snowflake hits the windshield - pull over ASAP - even if it's a motel - camp out (in a motel room, if necessary) until the weather clears and the streets/highways are dry.

In the long run, one or two days won't matter - no matter how much money you throw at it - a damaged AS will never be the same again.

"Suck it up, spend the bucks, do it right the first time."

WBCCI # 1113
AirForums #1737

Trailer '78 31' Sovereign

Living Large at an Airstream Park on the Largest Lake Totally Contained in Texas
Texas Airstream Harbor, Inc.
87MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 03:19 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

1968 17' Caravel
2005 30' Safari
Somewhere , roaming America
I did that trip last January. I was fortunate to get warm temperatures and no snow. But on the way back, I wasn't so lucky.