Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-31-2007, 11:05 PM   #1
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
1989 34.5' Airstream 345
Cleveland , Tennessee
Question What states require RVs to scale at truck inspections?

I'm a truck driver new to the airstream life. I've seen some signs posted that recreational vehicles must weigh but being in a truck, I never really paid any attention to where I was. I don't want my maiden voyage ruined by a DOT officer coming after me. Any suggestions on where this information can be found would sure be appreciated.
3 Dog Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 12:33 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Mr. 3DN,

First, welcome to the Forums. Don't be afraid to use the search feature as it works very well.

AFAIK, I have never seen a sign requiring RVs to weigh. I full-timed in a 40' Monaco Dynasty Diesel MoHo for 5 years and never weighed nor saw a posting to do so in the 40 or so states that I traveled thru.

Also, I have never seen an RV pulled over by a DOT officer in the years I have been RVing.
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 03:52 AM   #3
Cyclist

2007 28' International CCD
Windermere , Florida
Good thing too. With what my wife packs.........
henw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 04:10 AM   #4
Rivet Monster

1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
Only times I have ever seen a requirement for RV's to pull in to a station was for agricultural inspections and IIRC that was along I-10 in Florida. Oh and going into the tunnels up around Norfolk to make sure the portable LP tanks are turned off.

Aaron
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going