Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-03-2004, 12:22 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1989 37' Airstream 370
Beverly Hills , Florida
Smile Walmart overnight parking

Howdy......

Can anyone enlighten as to the truth that Wal Marts allow MHs and TTs to park overnight in their parking lots? I overheard someone say this, but as a beginner, I thought I'd ask the pros.

Thanks.....

Nick Danger, Third Eye
1989 370 LE
Nick Danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 12:37 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Elgin , Texas
I've heard that some do and some don't, for reasons ranging everywhere from local city ordinances to parking lot congestion, to complaints from nearby campgrounds, to people camping out for weeks at a time. Seems to me someone posted a list of known Wal-Marts that allowed overnight parking without fear of a security guard rousting you out at 3am...

Here's a good thread discussing it.

bake315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 12:39 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2001 30' Excella
Bedford , New Hampshire
Wally World

For the most part, WalMart is receptive for campers and motor homes overnighting in their parking lots. It is always a good idea to ask the manager on the front desk for permission. In that manner, they will direct you to the area of the parking lot they prefer to see the campers.

If you go into WalMart and look at their map section they have a WalMart Branded Rand McNally Road Atlas. In the front and back of the atlas they have a list of all the WalMarts across the coutry with the exit number off the interstate.