Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2016, 09:12 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2013 25' Flying Cloud
dallas , Texas
Trip planning from Dallas to Vancouver BC in the fall

I am going to start my trip in two weeks but haven't nailed down the route.

Start point: Dallas, Texas on about September 8.

End point: vancouver BC around November 22.

Need to stop in Phoenix AZ between September 29-October 2.

First time owner of AS, or any RV. No towing experience yet.

Goals: visiting national parks, state parks. Focus on natural beauty and outdoor activities.

Constrains: no towing experience, going to colder climate, four seasons trip from 100F to below freezing point (at least some nights)

What I have in mind is to avoid difficult driving condition given that I am a newbie and this is my first time.
In my mind, avoid mountain passes and snow if possible.

Also I want to be well prepared. Since I do consider possible winter stationary camping, I have been learning about things in cold climate which I think will help me with this trip when some nights can be cold.

So what is the best route?

I am thinking
1. Dallas to big bend, Carlsbad and then Santa Fe.

2. Heading to Utah (because I am on borrowed time as weather gets colder everyday)

3. Come down to Phoenix at the end of September for conference.

4. Head west to California and spend October exploring California destinations (parks)

5. Going up on the coastal roads exploring Oregon and Washington in November. (I imagine costal area, lower elevation, less snow and winding road?)

Arrive in BC around November 22.

Does my plan sound reasonable?

I bought mountain directory app that gives me grade and elevation information. But real world experience would be greatly appreciated!

Any tips, suggestions, favorites, camp sites, links, blogs would be great!

Thank you

Joy
spreadmywing is offline   Reply With Quote