Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-29-2013, 08:08 PM   #1
https://airstreamorama.com

2013 27' FB International
Palm Springs , California
Trailer Security on the Road

Hi,

Newbie here...picking up my Airstream in mid-November and doing a little research/survey on any issues/suggestions other Airstreamers may have regarding the security of their Airstream when they are out and about.

For example, when you are unhitched in a campground or boondocking somewhere, is there a way to secure the trailer so that someone cannot come along, hitch it up and drive off with it!

Or say you're en route and pull over and for some reason have to leave your vehicle/trailer unattended...once hitched...is there a key lock or some other secure mechanism which would prevent someone coming along and unhitching?

Am I being paranoid? Just curious what precautions experienced Airstreamers take (if any) in these situations.

Thanks,

John
Ljsydney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 08:15 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Perry , Florida
There are lock kits (avail at Walmart) that have a same key lock for both the stinger and the ball dog. I'd get the better quality one, usually more $ and use them regularly. As a safety measure keep a spare key in both the tug and the trailer.
Old 09-29-2013, 08:17 PM   #3

2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
I think on the road and while using your Airstream you should be fine. There was some reports at times of pranksters pulling out hitch pins when folks were parked at some restaurants, but I haven't heard of that lately. I've had one situation at one of the big campgrounds in Myrtle Beach where my wheel chocks and bumper caps were stolen from my SOB when we were away.