Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2002, 08:48 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2012 28' International
Currently Looking...
New Orleans , Louisiana
Took Globetrotter on first real trip

Well, finally took out the Globetrotter for a real road trip. We went to one of the Jellystone Campgrounds; I have an 8 year old. Part of the trip is across Lake Pontchartrain on a 25 mile causeway right across the middle of the lake. We were about 10 mile out on the causeway when the worst thunderstorm I have driven in hit, it was white out and nasty, everyone had on emergency blinkers and crawling, no place to pull over. When we exited the causeway it had been shut down due to the weather, cars were backed up for miles. I was a novice at towing a trailer stuck in what would be called survival conditions in sailing. What helped me out the most was knowing I had the correct hitch, tires, truck, brake controller, and all adjusted correctly. This confidence was due to this group and several others I read. Pay attention to details and you and your family will be safer. Take all the safety advice and tow rating seriously.

Another serious matter is that I think one of the campers at the park may have been electrocuted. One site had a flurry of active, I say a truck with emergency lights their. I later saw a tractor move the trailer and caution tape around the site and some very official looking personnel writing a report. Next pass I saw a vase with flowers by the electrical box and a few other flowers, not good signs. It had been raining at the park for the past 5 days and everything was soaked. I will pick up a pair of rated electrical gloves on my next trip to home depot to connect and disconnect.