Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-14-2017, 11:33 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2015 28' Flying Cloud
2017 30' Flying Cloud
Sumter , South Carolina
Tire pressure and tire temperature questions

We recently purchased a previously owned 2015 FC28 with 15" Goodyear Marathon D-rated tires. On our first trip (total newbies) we arrived at Canopener 2017 and installed our Forum-recommended TPMS only to find out we had towed our "new" AS from the Carolinas to the Florida panhandle with 40-41 pounds of air in each of our four 65 pound rated tires (confirmed by an accurate tire gauge). We immediately inflated them to the correct 65 pounds.
Question 1: the Goodyear RV tire brochure link in another thread says that tires that are 20% under inflated should be considered flat and should be inspected by a tire professional. Are we in danger? Our four tires were each 20+ pounds under inflated (definitely more than 20%).
Question 2: what should be the pressure and temperature at which we should become concerned as reported by the TPMS? In other words, how hot is considered normal and how low or high should normal pressure be on the road?
Thanks in advance for any responses to these questions or any other relevant advice you might have to offer.
Stewball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 11:53 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2008 22' Safari
Spicewood (W of Austin) , Texas
Boy, Oh Boy! Are you gonna be inundated with replies that tell you your Marathons were already in danger by pedigree from the moment they were mfr'd.