Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-24-2016, 02:45 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2017 28' International
Raynham , Massachusetts
The Umpteenth Checklist

I just purchased my first camper, a 28' International Serenity. I now have the tasks of preparing for travel across country on an expedition reminiscent of old.
I have lots of experience doing this over the years with many different perspectives and they were all very successful. My first was backpacking high in the Colorado Rockies for two weeks. My most complicated was a motorcycle camping trip from Kansas to Baja California at Christmas time. I remember the great detail of where every little thing was packed so that I could find it without digging. We did trial camping runs into Colorado to make sure we never forgot anything. The trip was phenomenal and others at the campsites could not believe that we had 'all that stuff' on a motorcycle without a trailer. My last large adventure was a kayak trip for 10 days down the Allagash River in Maine. This too was sort of like backpacking but without the physical effort.

In preparation for the long travels in the Airstream I plan to first work on outfitting everything without going overboard yet covering my interests..cooking, camping, writing and photography. Next will be learning the camper management of site hookup / disconnect and safe travel.