Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Closed Thread

Old 08-18-2016, 03:37 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2013 27' FB International
El Dorado Hills , California
The $10 lifetime senior pass needs to end

Saw this news article today (link below). The author sure has a strong opinion. Not sure it pertains to anybody on this forum.

The $10 lifetime senior pass needs to end
Old 08-18-2016, 05:38 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2002 30' Classic S/O
Fleming Island , Florida
And the premise is wrong. The pass does not get you everything for free. While I have no experience in national parks, in national forests it got me a discount on entry and nothing on camping fees. In a facility operated by a concessionaire, the concessionaire is free to set their own policy relative to discounts for the senior pass.

Al
2002 Classic 30 Slideout -S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins
Old 08-18-2016, 06:19 PM   #3
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
One must remember— or be told if one doesn't remember— that the National Park Srvice is one of the few Federal agencies that actually turns a profit each year.

The profits are taken by Congress and rolled into the General Fund rather than staying in the NPS, but still, the $10 Senior Passes as well as the $0 Access Passes for handicapped of all ages, do not detract significantly from the NPS revenue stream.
Old 08-18-2016, 06:22 PM   #4
.-. -...

2017 25' International
Niagara-on-the-Lake , ON Canada
I sure wish that I, as a Canadian, could get that NPS senior pass! I get 10% of camping at Ontario Provincial Parks.
Old 08-18-2016, 07:40 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member

2016 22' Sport
2020 25' International