Old 02-22-2013, 04:21 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

orlando , Florida
Sorry for the dumb question (I am a newbie)

Hello All
Been Lurking here for a few months. Just purchased a '66 overlander in good condition for its age. Polishing it now and trying to get it ready for our maiden voyage in the Spring. It was plumbed with a house toilet- into a septic system. (They actually did a pretty decent job installing the toilet) and P.O removed all of the holding tanks. (Black tank was originally behind axles under rear bath toilet)
I want to eventually get an RV toilet and Black tank Blue tank etc. but I really want to go use the Airstream now and see how we like it rather than tear into and rebuild the entire trailer. My Question is this:
Can I still go to most campgrounds without a black tank or Blue Tank? I am not familiar with campground arrangements. I assume they can differ greatly. but if I have the 3" or 4" flex pipe coming off of the discharge line under rear bumper.
- That is what is there now with a slide valve. Will that be sufficient for most camp areas?
I noticed a lot of portable blue tanks at one RV camping area that we checked out. Not sure why so many people had the wheeled blue water tanks regardless of their RV size?
What amenities do I look for online when I am searching for campgrounds as far as sewer and drinking water are concerned
We want to camp at smaller campgrounds on the beach. I dont mind buying portable tanks now if I need to.

Old 02-22-2013, 04:32 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1964 19' Globetrotter
The Sea Ranch , California