Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-19-2009, 12:25 PM   #1

2000 25' Excella
Statesboro , Georgia
Route planning - Atlanta to Yellowstone

We're new Airstreamers with a 25' 2000 Excella planning a trip to Mt. Rushmore, Yellowstone and Jackson, WY beginning around Aug. 5. Has anyone made this trip from Georgia or Florida? If so, any ideas on the best route. Also, are we starting too late, considering the weather "up north?"
cbkeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 05:05 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Hampton , New Hampshire
A hearty welcome from Marietta, and welcome to the world of Airstreamin'! There are a bunch of us here in the southeast - you can find a group of us if you search out the thread with Falluminum or Springstream.

I will start by saying I have no specific experience re your route - jealous. The first question I would ask is how much time do you have? My single contribution would be, if you have the time, is to take a route that avoids the highways. Several years ago we traveled from Atlanta to Death Valley and we avoided, as much as was reasonable, the highways in favor of excellent two lane roads. Spectacular.
2019 Airstream Classic 30RBT, 2021 Ford F350 King Ranch 4X4 w/6.7L Diesel, Hensley, ACI #1313

travelwiththeslowskys.com
nilesrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 06:51 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1972 25' Tradewind
Redmond , Oregon
Welcome to the forum!

I just returned two weeks ago from a 4700 mile 'tour' of Idaho, Wyoming and Montana. Doing my absolute best to stay off of the beaten path. I really like alpine environments and any road that does not have more than one lane in each direction. I camped in USFS and BLM campgrounds and did not do any camping with services. If you wish, I could give you some information on what I saw and discovered along my path.