Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-13-2015, 09:36 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1994 30' Excella
alexandria , Kentucky
Planning unit caravan to N. Ind and Michigan

Hi all,
This year I am the President of the Kentucky WBCCI Unit and I plan on taking some of our members on a 9 day "working man's" special unit caravan. We will be making three main camping stops and hopefully a few stops while traveling as a caravan. Several of our members are quite interested in this trip and I have never done anything like this before.......

I would like your ideas and information on the places we are stopping so I can hone down a good itinerary since we will be "on the move". Hopefully you can give me first hand experience on the best things to see, experience and recommended places to eat. I have poured over the internet and brochures and feel bit overwhelmed.

We will be leaving on June 5th from Kentucky.

Stop #1 - Shipshewana, Indiana -
arrive June 5th leave June 8th. Staying at a campground north of town (shipshewana north park).
- Amish market etc... on June 6th
- Elhart RV museum on June 7th. I think there is a Railroad museum in Elkhart too.

June 8th - Caravaning to Holland, MI - any thing good to see on the way? Will they have room for tow vehicles and trailers?

Stop #2 - Holland , Mi - Staying at Holland State Park.
arrive June 8th leave June 10.
- plan on seeing the Dutch windmill park
- put our feet in the sand of Lake Michigan (water too cold)
- maybe a Dune ride
- what other things in the area are good to see

June 10th - Caravaning to Cedar, Mi - any thing good to see on the way?

Stop #3 - Cedar, Michigan - staying at Leelanau Pines Lakeside camping resort