Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-19-2004, 09:29 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Owings Mills , Maryland
Talking Picking Up 1961 Caravel

We are leaving Saturday morning to pick up my "new" 1961 Caravel. I am excited to get going and eager to finally meet both Angie (Farm_Girl) and the Caravel (who needs a name badly).

I think we have everything we need for the trip. The trailer brakes and lights work, has new tires and bearings have been repacked. Durango has new hitch, wiring and brake controller. I have maps, AAA triptik and one week vacation for the trip. I don't know why I am so nervous. Maybe because I have never done this before???

Anyway, soon our Airstream will be home where she belongs. I say "she" because with pink appliances it must be a girl.

Kaye
kayelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 11:09 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Picking Up 1961 Caravel

Greetings Kaye!

Congratulations on your acquisition. One caution that I might make is that, if you haven't done so already, you will need to verify that the height of your hitch ball is correct for the Caravel - - the height according to the Airstream Weight and Measures page is 17.5". I suspect that your Durango may need a rather significantly dropped drawbar in order to achieve this ball height. Towing, even for short distances, with a hitch that is too high can have both handling as well as coach damage issues - - I thought that I could tow my Minuet the relatively short distance home with a hitch that was less than 2" too high, and succeeded in damaging the dump valve termination components exiting the previous owner's driveway.