Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-26-2013, 03:07 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1973 Argosy 26
St David , Arizona
Living life 6 days at a time...

Backstory first.

I used to be a computer programmer. End up the Vice President of a small high tech firm in AZ. I was stuck in the corporate world with unrealistic deadlines and very high stress levels.

My whole life, I wanted to be a paramedic. But never started down that road. One day, I was watching TV and the "Post 9/11 GI bill" was announced. I did a small 12 year stint in the US Army Infantry (sound off 11b's) and realized that I qualified for it!

Jump 3.5 years into the future and I am a full time paramedic on a 5/6 schedule. As I worked as an EMT prior to receiving my paramedic cert, I worked with a full time paramedic who was always traveling around and had tons of stories of his adventures. He was on the 5/6 schedule. Essentially the 5/6 schedule is work five 24hr shifts with a day off in between and then you get 6 days off in a row. This is how he was able to do so much. I longed for that opportunity. At the time I was in school and still in the cube jungle of corporate America.

When I graduated, I was able to work for the ambulance company as a paramedic. Soon after, 2 full time openings became available and I was hired full time! I put in my two week notice with the corporate job (still consult) and started living my paramedic dream.