Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-04-2013, 05:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Longview , Texas
Leveling my FC

Hi all I'm a newbie. I was reading in "The Newbies Guide to Airstreaming" book that came with my trail and it said not to use the stabalizing jacks for leveling. What should I use and what is a good way to level?
Aggie90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 05:33 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2011 30' Flying Cloud
Arvada , Colorado
Welcome to the Forum. I carry a 6" level to check levels front to back and side to side. Of course, your power jack will easily level you front to back. Most AS folks will carry a set or two of leveler blocks to use when needed for side to side leveling. A bit more of a challenge to do but you'll get the hang of it. You also find that most campgrounds' sites are level enough that using the blocks for side to side alignment won't often be necessary. Good luck
Jack46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 05:45 PM   #3
retired USA/USAF

2001 30' Excella
Somerset , New Jersey
A couple of short pieces of 2x8 lumber will take care of most side/side leveling needs. If you need more that that maybe you should move. Take care to get it at least close. It will make sleeping much more comfortable and your refrig will appreciate it too. Front to rear is less of a worry since usually the front jack will handle that easily. Now, if you stay hooked up for a quick overnight stay the jack may not do it. If you deploy your stabilizers beware, they are just that. Stabilizers. Not meant to do any lifting so don't put them down with too much force.

" Democracy is the worst form of government. Except for all the rest"
Winston Churchill 1948

TAC - NJ 18