Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-21-2018, 07:47 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2017 19' International
Tallahassee , Florida
Hiking trails and digital maps

I'm heading up to Alabama's Monte Sano State Park soon, and the park has a bunch of trails.

The trial map offered on the park's web site, though, is a bit primitive.

I'm trying to find a map I could download.

Alternatively, I could use AllTrails or another app. Nice, as they GPS you and you trod along, so you know where you are. I have no experience with these, however.

AllTrails looks usable, but ... you have to use the maps "live" if you use the free version. If you pay $30 a year (or $100 lifetime) AllTrials allows you to download the maps, so you are not relying on cell towers to help you out as you move through the woods (which may not be a problem at Monte Sano State Park, since Huntsville is 30 or so miles away).

Anyone have experience with digital trail maps?

Any recommendations?

I know Appalachian Trail hikers swear by the Guthook app, but I believe it has only the AT and maybe one or two other long trails.
WhereStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 09:50 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Not exactly trail maps, but I really, really love the PocketEarth app, which allows you to download cities, states, etc., and tracks your location in real time whether you have internet service or not.

I mark locations on the map before I go, then taking my phone with me means I always know exactly where I am.

Maggie
Old 10-21-2018, 12:58 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1986 25' Sovereign
2008 F350, 6.4L diesel , Oak Harbor, WA
I used custom maps an Android app. It is a free download with no ads.