Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-06-2014, 01:18 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1982 34' Limited
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Send a message via Skype™ to Jenniflow
Getting an untitled trailer to Mexico?

Hi Folks,
This is my first time on the On the Road forum. I'm not sure if this is the place to ask this question but you seem to have an, ahem, pretty far-ranging discussion here, so I thought I'd try.

I am considering buying an old untitled trailer in TX. I want to take the trailer to Baja. Can anyone enlighten me on what I'd be likely to run into, as I head over the border? Do I need to demonstrate that I own it?

Or, I guess, first things first, what exactly would I have to do to make it legal to pull it and insure it? Can I just call someone up and have them tow it, as-is, to CA and then register it there? Using some kind of temporary permit? If so, from whom? I'm a CA resident, so I'm clueless about TX and what would be required. Also, I've never bought a trailer in the US before, and never registered a trailer. We have an AS MH.

Thanks for any direction on this!
Old 04-06-2014, 01:38 PM   #2
Rivet Master

To get a trailer into Mexico, you have to temporarily import it, even though some parts of Mexico like the Baja are no "no hassle zones" where no car permit is required.
The import process is not difficult or expensive but you do need registration and a title. You visit the adjuana (customs) in the same place where you get your visa.
If you want an old trailer to live in it, perhaps you can buy one in Mexico. They are not nearly as numerous as the U.S. and you will likely pay more for it, but I have seen them for sale.
handn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 01:42 PM   #3
Rivet Master