Old 07-24-2004, 04:19 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Gasing up when on the road-newbie here

What's your best advice for gasing up when on the road? Truck stops? (Still looking for our unit, but 31' travel trailer is possibility.)
Thanks.

Old 07-24-2004, 04:49 PM   #2
RivetAddict

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Louisville , Kentucky
We look for truck stops. Flying J's seem to accomodate RV'ers a little better than most. They have seperate RV fill stations with Gas, Diesel, Air, Water, LP and Dump Stations. They also have an RV Frequent Fueler card which is good for a penny off per gallon.

We've used stations big and small but prefer a major station right off the higway whenever possible.

swebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2004, 07:35 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Hays County , Texas
I have a diesel now, so I stop mostly at large truck stops. Flying J, Loves, etc. Flying J is my favorite because of the separate RV island. I will also use the truck pumps when no auto diesel is available. I have to hand-hold the truck nozzles because they don't go very far into the filler neck. I fill up when unhitched whenever possible; with the range of the diesel, that will cover a half-day of driving.

When I used gasoline, I would look for large stations with many pumps. Best when the pumps are parallel to the road so that I could pull straight through, but any large station would do. I would leave the trailer cocked when necessary so that others could get by behind me. Only once or twice was I forced to use a small station and have the wife spot so that I could back out. Not much fun!
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2004, 07:42 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Gasing up when on the road-newbie here

Greetings Gardener!

Welcome to the Forums!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gardener