Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2012, 02:34 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1968 26' Overlander
Durham , North Carolina
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Images: 1
Electrical hookups at campgrounds...

Hope this is the right place to ask this...when looking at campgrounds with electrical hookups I see Electricity Hookup: 50. Does this mean I will not be able to hook up my 30 amp service? Just not obvious to me...and electricity ain't my thing.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
goswick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:43 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Frank&Mike's Avatar

 
2016 27' Flying Cloud
Georgetown , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 726
Images: 2
I Asked Similar Question

A couple years ago when I was new to all of this I asked a similar question. See the following thread with various replies:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f449...ant-53004.html
__________________

__________________
Frank&Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:46 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 27' Safari FB SE
Wheat Ridge , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 28
the 50 means 50 amp service. you can hook your 30 amp plug up to it if you have an adapter. the adapter has a 50 amp plug on one side and a 30 amp plug on the other. plug the adapter 50 into the 50 amp service and your 30 amp plug into the other side of the adapter
__________________
The Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:51 PM   #4
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,127
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Every place that I have camped that had 50amp service also had a 30amp outlet. There may be some that only have a 50amp outlet, but I have not found one yet.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 03:37 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
I'm with Richard on this one...we have never seen a site that had 50 amp that did not also have a 30-amp outlet... BUT if you do run into the situation where there is only 50 amp, you can use a 50amp-to-30amp-converter plug... We carry one but have never had to use it.
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 03:42 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Pahaska's Avatar
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Hays County , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,822
Images: 3
I have stopped two places that had only 50 amp service. Both places had previously been mobile home parks. In both cases, I was warned when I made reservations that I would need a 50 to 30 adapter.

BTW. I often use the 50-30 adapter even when a 30 amp outlet is available. If you plug in to 50 amps with the adapter, you will never pop the outside breaker if someone accidentally happens to start the microwave with the electric WH and the AC/heat pump running. This has saved me a trip outside several times in the past.
__________________
John W. Irwin
2014.5 Touring Coach, "Sabre-Dog IV"
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 03:55 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,409
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pahaska View Post
I have stopped two places that had only 50 amp service. Both places had previously been mobile home parks. In both cases, I was warned when I made reservations that I would need a 50 to 30 adapter.

BTW. I often use the 50-30 adapter even when a 30 amp outlet is available. If you plug in to 50 amps with the adapter, you will never pop the outside breaker if someone accidentally happens to start the microwave with the electric WH and the AC/heat pump running. This has saved me a trip outside several times in the past.

Bingo! X2 on having found 50A only at a couple of parks.....and I was too lazy to post the using the 50A even when a 30A is right next to it for the same reason above!
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 03:57 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Silver Otter's Avatar

 
2011 31' Classic
Nellysford , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 979
Images: 6
Blog Entries: 1
Like John, we use our 50-to-30 whenever this is 50 amp service. Just another layer of protection and comfort.
__________________
Greg and Linda Heuer
2011 31' Classic Ltd. - The Silver Otter III
2013 GMC Denali 2500HD 6.6 DuraMax
TAC VA-18 | WBAC 1927 - Shen. Valley Unit 149 | AIR 53869
https://www.linkedin.com/in/gheuer
Silver Otter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 04:56 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
ZoominC6's Avatar
 
2004 30' Classic Slideout
Colleyville , Texas
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,502
Should you have the rare occasion to have only 50amp service just purchase a 50 to 30 pigtail and plug it in. Very easy. Have fun.
__________________
In dog years, I'm dead!
ZoominC6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 05:28 PM   #10
Moderator
 
moosetags's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,763
Images: 5
Lucy has hooked-up at hundreds of different campgrounds. Only once did we run into a site with only 50amp service. That is the one and only time that I have used my 50amp to 30amp adapter pigtail.

Brian
__________________
SuEllyn & Brian McCabe
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with HAHA
2005 Suburban 2500 Quadrasteer (Olivia) & 2018 Silverado 2500 (Lillian)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:09 PM   #11
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by goswick View Post
Hope this is the right place to ask this...when looking at campgrounds with electrical hookups I see Electricity Hookup: 50. Does this mean I will not be able to hook up my 30 amp service? Just not obvious to me...and electricity ain't my thing.

Thanks.
Well the question comes up often. Here's what a typical 50 amp pedestal in a campground looks like. Lower left, 50 amp. Lower center, 30 amp. Lower right, 20 amp with GFCI. Above them are the circuit breakers, a pair for the 50 amp outlet, and one each for the 30 and 20.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shore1.jpg
Views:	351
Size:	188.0 KB
ID:	154380  
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:11 PM   #12
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
So in most cases that's what you get and you can plug in anything.

I've heard reports of 50a-only pedestals but have never seen one. The people who have say that the office at places like that usually has adapter plugs you can buy or rent.

More common is the situation where the 30a receptacle is worn or broken from frequent use, so that if you have a 50a adapter you can plug in there instead.
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 07:14 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,270
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Hi, we always carry a 50 Amp adapter and have used it twice. In the picture, it was 50 Amp or 20 amp only.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4484.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	215.4 KB
ID:	154383  
__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:25 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
2010 25' FB Flying Cloud
Davenport , Iowa
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 1
I also carry a 50/30 adapter; but I kick it up a notch by also using a "Surge guard". As luck would have it, the campground where I was had an electrical problem and one of the campers cord burnt. I had just got the surge guard. (30 amp)
__________________

__________________
Airtandem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switches at door batt Lights - Interior & Exterior 4 10-24-2012 08:07 PM
Bob Wheeler at The Motorhome, Caravan & Camping Show at London's ExCeL WK57ABF Airstream "In the News" 9 03-25-2012 05:41 PM
Went to look at AS for the first time farmerdave Buyer Guidelines 11 03-25-2012 03:04 PM
Noob looking at a 31' '77 AS 270win 1974 - 1979 Sovereign 61 03-23-2012 11:13 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.