Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-18-2004, 10:00 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

diesel truck-----what to watch out for?

I am looking for a diesel truck. There are a few requirements.
1. Automatic trans (tired of shifting)
2. Used (can't afford new)
3. 4 x 4 (lots of snowy winters)
4. Extended cab (family of 5)
The big three all have trucks to meet my requirements, but I have limited experience with diesel engines (none really). Since I have to buy used, what I want to know is there anything I should watch out for or avoid in any of the big 3's trucks? I don't want truck bashing, just any known problems. For instance someone told me Chevy had a problem with injector pumps (or something like that?) with there 6.5 turbo and it cost around $800 to fix! All 3 have decent trucks, so I don't really care what brand it is I would just like a reliable truck.
Horse power and towing heavy stuff is not a concern. So differences in horse power or towing capability not a big factor.
Thanks for your help.

G/R
Ghost Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2004, 10:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master

What ever truck you buy LOOK at the service log. Diesels and towig = MAINTENANCE.
A well maintained diesel will last a long time. Not changing the fuel filter every 15,000 miles will wear the injectors and shorten the pump life. Go to thedieselstop.com and look there for advice, like Airstreamforums.com which is a wealth of information thedieselstop is loaded with lots of information. Good luck.
Tinsel Loaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2004, 02:54 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
West Linn , Oregon
I bought a used one and...