Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-28-2004, 04:11 PM   #1
Rivet Master

Boondocking in Missouri

Ok, so it isn't exactly "On the Road"; but the experience is the same.

While building on our land here in southwest Mo., I have been living in our '85 Sovereign 25'. No utilities, no sewer. So not only is this my longest extended period in the Airstream, it is my first try at boonedocking.

Here are some observations, most of which would be applicable to a new Classic 25', as the floorplan and size is largely unchanged:

The large, top hinged windows provide marvelous cross ventilation. Without those and the Fantastic Fan I could not have made it through a few incredibly humid, hot nights.

It continues to amaze me how livable the space is. Living room, kitchen, bathroom, bedroom. Ok, so bathROOM is stretching it. Bath closet, maybe. Even so, it works quite well; especially the shower. I am about ready to take out the headache inducing, largely useless overhead cabinet, though. I note it is no longer used in the newest coaches. I do like the window, though, which is no longer available.

Storage space is beyond belief. And everything is easily to hand. The roll out pantry is a real convenience for full time living.

Those gas refrigerators don't use much gas, do they? Amazing.

Cell phone reception inside is terrific, which surprises me.

I can heat water just once a day, shut off the heater, shower (two showers when my wife stays over), and still have hot water to do the day's dishes.

RidX works great in the black tank. No odors at all, and the tank has been filling for 10 days.