Old 05-15-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
2000 25' Excella
Northern , California
Bay Area to Glacier National Park Thru Idaho

I'm plotting a late summer route from the SF Bay Area to Glacier NP, and who knows what else. I'm very familiar with California, Oregon, and Washington, so I'm thinking of heading east on I-80 to Winnemucca, NV, then north on US 95 to Grangeville, ID, north on 13 to Kooskia, ID, then east on 12 to Lolo, MT & Missoula, etc.

I'm familiar with the I-80 segment, and US 95 up to Cambridge, ID. The last time I was in that country, I then took Idaho 71 down into Hell's incredible descent.

I have no knowledge of US 95 from Cambridge, ID north. The segment of 95 that interests me is from McCall north to Grangeville, the Idaho 13 segment between Grangeville and Kooskia, and the highway 12 segment from Kooskia to Lolo. McCall to Grangeville and Kooskia to Lolo are labeled "scenic" on the map, and that can involve varying degrees of difficulty.

Does anyone have experience pulling their trailer on the McCall-Grangeville & Kooskia-Lolo roads that they would be willing to offer advice?

Kamiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 02:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master
2005 30' Classic
... , ...
McCall to Grangeville – you will encounter a steep grade with short turns just a couple miles out of McCall (within 200 yards of Brundage Mountain road) with 20 – 25 mph turns for one or two miles. Make sure your breaks work, and everything should be well.

Once you work your way through the flats (after turning north on 95 at New Meadows) you will start down another grade along the Little Salmon River. The grade is not as steep or the corners as sharp as what you experienced just outside of McCall.

You will find a beautiful drive once north of Riggins along the main Salmon river.