Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-03-2008, 01:02 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2007 27' Safari FB SE
Full Timers just passing through , Arizona for a couple of weeks and then on to Utah!
Rivet Alaska in the Spring

We just completed a 4000 mile trip to Alaska and are located in Skagway. It occurred to me that I have some experiences to share from the trip..just in case some of you are planning a trip to the " great North" this summer.

The trip really begins when you cross the Canadian Border. Passports are not yet mandatory, but they will ease the path. Read the many dos and dont's of crossing the Canadian Border. If you want to make it easy, just do not bring weapons, spring loaded knives, fresh produce, more than a liter of booze and anything to sell. Those are the questions and if you can honestly answer "no" to all of them, your passage will be much easier and faster.

Fuel prices are in liters. Yes, it is more expensive in Canada. Around Calgary and Edmonton the prices were around 50 cents a gallon higher than in Montana when we came through there. The further that you progress the higher the prices. We paid nearly $6.00 per gallon for Diesel in Ft. Nelson, BC. Fuel is available all along the Alaska highway, but it is advisable to never let your tank get below half full. We installed an auxiliary fuel tank and were glad that we had it. It allows you to buy your fuel in places where the prices are a bit more reasonable and available. Prices in Alaska are cheaper than Canada. I paid $4.85 for Diesel in Skagway yesterday.