Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2015, 03:19 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
DeltaRon's Avatar
 
2015 28' Flying Cloud
Cumming , Georgia
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 228
30 amp question

Newbie question. My new FC 28 will have two AC units with 50 amp service. If I'm camping with only 30 amp service, will I still be able to run one AC unit? Am I correct that I'll need a 30 to 50 amp connector? Help me understand what I'll need.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
DeltaRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 03:24 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,400
Images: 5
yes on both questions. But you'll need to learn that cumbersome thermostat to command one zone or the other.
__________________

__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 03:46 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
paiceman's Avatar

 
2017 30' Classic
Upper St Clair , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,433
Images: 1
Yes to both questions, however, in addition when operating with 30 AMPS it is advisable to not run the micro wave and the A/C etc. Try to refrain from overloading, when the A/C kicks on is when it draws the most and if the Micro is on or someone is using a hair drying you will trip the circuit breaker - they are in a box under the refrigerator or near it, at least in mine that is where they are.
__________________
SAFE TRAVELS
2017 30' Classic - F350 6.7 Diesel Crew
USAF - Military Training Instructor (TI) - 68-72
paiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 03:59 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
AnnArborBob's Avatar
 
2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,763
Images: 12
For the cable connection, you will want something like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Camco-55185-Po...50+amp+adapter

These are also available at just about any RV store.
__________________
Bob Martel
WBCCI# 5766
AnnArborBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 04:34 PM   #5
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaRon View Post
Newbie question. My new FC 28 will have two AC units with 50 amp service. If I'm camping with only 30 amp service, will I still be able to run one AC unit? Am I correct that I'll need a 30 to 50 amp connector? Help me understand what I'll need.
Yes, you will still be able to run one AC unit. Yes, you will need a 30 to 50 amp connector, or better still, a 30 amp cord, like this:

Marinco Park Power 50-Amp Locking Adapter with 25' 30-Amp Cord - Marinco 124ARV-25 - Electrical Adapters - Camping World

That way you will not need to pull out the heavy and expensive 50a cord except when you intend to run air conditioning, and have 50a service available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dznf0g View Post
yes on both questions. But you'll need to learn that cumbersome thermostat to command one zone or the other.
He has the new thermostat, which is supposed to be better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paiceman View Post
in addition when operating with 30 AMPS it is advisable to not run the micro wave and the A/C etc. Try to refrain from overloading, when the A/C kicks on is when it draws the most and if the Micro is on or someone is using a hair drying you will trip the circuit breaker
What paiceman is trying to say is that you can't use more than 30 amps if 30 amps is all you have available. I put in a meter to measure the amps being used (a search will turn up a thread with photos and part numbers). The big loads are the air conditioners, microwave, and water heater, and any appliances you plug in that produce heat. You can run one of those, sometimes two.

We have at times been able to run both air conditioners on 30a service if we run the fridge on gas and shut off everything else, including the converter.
__________________
To learn to see below the surface, you must adjust your altitude
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 12:53 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Glenritas's Avatar

 
1969 25' Tradewind
Shasta Lake , California
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 686
Or you could save major $$ and use this $20 adapter Power Grip Adapter - 30A Male to 50A Female - Camco 55185 - Electrical Adapters - Camping World
__________________

__________________
Glen & Jane 1969 all electric Airstream 25' TradeWind
2014 Toyota Tundra
1998 Chevy Tahoe
2001 Casita 13' Patriot Deluxe

My Build Thread https://www.airforums.com/forums/f11...ml#post1997059
Glenritas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp to 15 Amp Adapter to House Power Question Steamboatbob Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 29 04-09-2017 10:43 PM
Samsung tv goes on & off & on & etc jump Electronics & Connectivity 22 03-03-2015 07:01 PM
50 amp to 30 amp pigtail question Rawn77 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 14 07-10-2014 04:55 PM
20 Amp or 30 Amp, that's the question Jim & Susan Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 60 05-28-2010 02:37 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.