Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-24-2007, 07:08 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Los Angeles , Massachusetts
Talking Silver Streak - Need Your Thoughts

Hi Everyone,

I'm never sure where to post my questions, so I hope I'm in the right spot. As I mentioned in earlier posts, I'm a writer. I put my notice in on my apartment here in Los Angeles, so I'm leaving soon. Where am I going? Answer: I don't know, but it would be nice to have a trailer to go there in.

Okay, so I'm looking at a 1965 26' Silver Streak Continental for $5K. I'm happy to put another $5-10K into it to get it in really good shape. I'd like to replace the fridge, toilet, propane tanks and regulators, heater, and install A/C. I also may rip out the floors to get rid of that old asbestos tile, put something nice in, and redo the upholstery on the couches. I'm hoping when I'm done, the resale value if the trailer will be close to what I've put into it -- should I decide to sell it. Maybe I'll keep it and use it as an office.

I want to live in the trailer full time for at least a year. Does this sound like a good idea to everyone? Is this a feasible plan? Do I sound one sandwich short of a picnic? Also, how do I pick this up if it's out of state? I still need to buy a TV (stands for Tow Vehicle, not Television). Also, is this trailer a double axle? Do I need a double axle trailer? Does it increase stability or anything like that? And do I have to make my bed everyday? I like a nice cushy bed. I don't want to have wake blury eyed from slumber and have to to turn my bed into a kitchen table each morning.

I'm VERY new at all of this. Just a girl pursuing a CRAZY idea...

All thoughts are appreciated.

Myra Winter

"
You just have to decide if you’re a Tigger or an Eeyore." - Randy Pausch
mwinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 07:28 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1978 24' Argosy 24