Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Vintage Kin
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-18-2014, 07:05 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Vestal , New York
sharing what I learned about vintage Avions

Hi- I'm just sharing this because I've been researching the Avions and I thought it might help someone else who is doing the same thing. I am a novice, (a middle aged lady, in fact) and I don't have a trailer yet, but I was able to track down a restorer of old cars who knew a lot about Avions and shared several points with me. I almost bought a '64 Avion and chickened out. Anyway, this is what he said and it sounded very smart to me:

- Avions have a skin of anodized aluminum and can't be shined to the shiny silver of the Airstreams. What you see is what you get. They will be a dull gray silver.
- examine the frame for soundness. water hits the frame in front and it can deteriorate to the extent that you can put your finger through it. The frame begins with the "tongue" which is the part you see sticking out to hook onto your tow vehicle.
- crawl under the trailer and look at the belly. because Avions have a piece of sheet metal on the underside, you will need to try and pry that away somewhere to view the wood of the floor with your flashlight. it might look like swiss cheese which if you stopped at the metal sheet in your investigation, you would miss.
- inside stand where the tub was or is and jump up and down. you might fall right through! there can be a lot of hidden water damage in that area.
- check for water damage around the entrance to the Avion where the wall meets the floor.
- check for tire dry rot
- check electrical systems
- check out all the windows. give them a shake at the bottoms with your hands. they might just fall right out!