Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Vintage Kin

Old 01-21-2014, 10:28 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Vintage Kin Owner
redondo beach , California
Has anyone replaced the front cap section SS Clipper

Hi Everyone, I want to buy this trailer. There are five sections on the rear they need to be replaced and I am wondering if they are flat panels? has anyone here replaced them?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6629.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	229.7 KB
ID:	204112  

Old 01-21-2014, 11:16 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
I am far from an expert on these old units, but I believe that they are flat panels, but have a special lip on them which I seem to recall can be formed with an available tool. There have been other posts on the subject, perhaps someone can recall them or find them.

Old 01-21-2014, 11:28 AM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

1957 30' Sovereign of the Road
1959 28' Ambassador
1949 24' Limited
Peru , New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLVMB View Post
Hi Everyone, I want to buy this trailer. There are five sections on the rear they need to be replaced and I am wondering if they are flat panels? has anyone here replaced them?
Yes they are flat panels. If they have rolled edges on them like 50's era Airstream's do, they can be recreated with a bead roller. As this is a Curtis Wright or a Silver Streak, it is likely made from Alclad 2024 T3 aluminum. Don't try to reproduce the panels with any other material, it'll look funny as the shine won't be the same.
Good luck with your project & welcome to the Forums.
Colin
Colin H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:58 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member

Vintage Kin Owner
I don't believe there is a lip
Old 01-21-2014, 12:38 PM   #5
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

1957 30' Sovereign of the Road
1959 28' Ambassador
1949 24' Limited
Peru , New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLVMB View Post
I don't believe there is a lip