Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2011, 07:32 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
TikiPatrick's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Glendale , California
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Electrical Question

I'm getting ready to wire a permanent hook up for my 1972 Streamline Imperial.
It has 4 20 amp breakers and of course one giant plug.
If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be much appreciated!!
__________________

__________________
TikiPatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 07:39 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
DanielB's Avatar
 
1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 8
What is it that you seek, grasshopper?
__________________

__________________
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
- Andrew Carnegie
DanielB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 07:53 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
TikiPatrick's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Glendale , California
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Well, I guess it's a basic question of how do I wire 80 amps in to one outlet? Is there an 80 amp breaker that I can put in put into the breaker box? What gauge romex to run? 2 wire or 3 wire? (I know this is real elementary stuff, but I gotta start some where!).
I read somewhere that the AC needs 30 amps, so what's up with that?
Thanks
__________________
TikiPatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:17 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
DanielB's Avatar
 
1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 8
Someone else helped me with mine, but I'll give it a stab. Just verify what I say and don't take it for the gospel.

The breaker box is important. Is it proprietary or will it hold the generic SquareD breakers?

If it will hold the squareD then here is an 80 amp squareD breaker as an example. Something like this would probably work:
Circuit Breaker 80a - Circuit Breakers - Distribution - 2DN05 : Grainger Industrial Supply

I think my ac is on a 30 amp breaker. It sucks a lot of juice on startup.
__________________
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
- Andrew Carnegie
DanielB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:25 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
overlander64's Avatar
 
1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 5,354
Images: 183
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Electrical Question

Greetings TikiPatrick!

I think that some clarification might be needed to get a clear answer to your question. First of all, if you are planning to travel with your coach, there are two general choices when it comes to shorepower electrical boxes 30-AMP (the industry standard before rigs with two roof air conditioners became common) or 50-AMP. Unless everything in your coach is 120-volt AC electric, it should be possible to wire to the 50-AMP standard. If your plan is to setup your coach as a semi-permanent cabin, you could look into a 100-AMP mobile home service as that would include the 100-AMP main breaker and room for your breakers totalling 80-AMPs.

Basically, on our Vintage coaches, the roof-mounted air conditioners were wired to a dedicated 20-AMP circuit as the compressor requires 20-AMP on startup. Then there would usually be two additional circuits . . . one serving the 120-volt outlets and another serving the Univolt and the 120-volt outlet for the refrigerator AC heating element. These circuits would be in a 30-AMP RV service box. When a second air conditioner or a large microwave was added the service on a modern RV often went to 50-AMP boxes to allow for the additional electrical draw from the increased number of electrical appliances.

The most important question is whether your coach is going to continue to be mobile . . . . or if it is going to become a permanent fixture on a lot.

Good luck with your investigation!

Kevin
__________________
Kevin D. Allen
WBCCI (Lifetime Member)/VAC/Free Wheelers #6359
AIR #827
1964 Overlander International/1999 GMC K2500 Suburban (7400 VORTEC/4.11 Differentials)
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre/1975 Cadillac Eldorado Convertible (8.2 Liter V8/2.70 Final Drive)
overlander64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 08:36 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
clancy_boy's Avatar
 
2003 22' International CCD
Kiln , Mississippi
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,780
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by TikiPatrick View Post
I'm getting ready to wire a permanent hook up for my 1972 Streamline Imperial.
It has 4 20 amp breakers and of course one giant plug.
If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be much appreciated!!

Just because you camper has 4 20amp breakers does not mean you need a total of 80amps on the supply. Each circuit is protected to 20amps or the breaker will trip. You may have a circuit of lights drawing only 1 or 2 amps total.

If you have an RV plug on your camper the easiest thing to do is get the complementary RV plug in box available from Home Depot or Lowes or any other electrical supply store. Add that to you main breaker box (or if unsure have your electrician do it) as you would any other outlet - 30amp or 50amp. Short runs you could use 10/2 wire sold in bulk or purchased by length. Longer runs use a little bigger.

What outlet in a campground would you use if you had it on the road - 30 or 50amp? That would be the box you would need to buy. Use your existing power cord to just plug into your new RV box.
__________________
Michael & Tina with Layla and Preston BZ
The family has grown.
2003 22' INTERNATIONAL CCD
clancy_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 09:04 PM   #7
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer
 
Inland RV Center, In's Avatar
 
Corona , California
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 16,085
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TikiPatrick View Post
I'm getting ready to wire a permanent hook up for my 1972 Streamline Imperial.
It has 4 20 amp breakers and of course one giant plug.
If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be much appreciated!!
All you need is a well wired 30 amp outlet at 120 volts AC.

Andy
__________________
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2011, 09:48 PM   #8
1 Rivet Member
 
TikiPatrick's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Glendale , California
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
Outstanding info everyone, Thank you very much!!
__________________

__________________
TikiPatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steel / Aluminum wheel question polarlyse Wheels, Hubs & Bearings 12 05-29-2011 08:49 PM
1980 Caravelle axle question Seymour Axles 5 05-14-2011 09:28 PM
1960 Electrical 110V & 12V question Lothlorian Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 19 05-09-2011 12:58 AM
Blasphemous question woytovich General Repair Forum 15 04-09-2011 09:36 AM
'67 Caravel Restoration Electrical question vonzellen 1966-68 Caravel 1 01-15-2011 08:25 AM





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.
Modal Click